Sweet Pork for Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was amazing! I did use half the sugar and skipped the chilies as it had enough spice for us already. I always puree salsa in recipes like this (personal preference) and that helped blend everything together. I blended some of the juices from the meat into re-fried beans which also went into the burritos, that I then froze and have been enjoying ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is by far my favorite recipe for "taco" night. I have tried it with pork, chicken and even beef. It works best with pork but the other two are nice alternatives too just to switch it up. I tend to add a can of rotel instead of the salsa and I have used diet colas and even dr. pepper. All taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I cut the sugar down to 1 cup. It's not exactly like Costa Vida but close enough! Loved it! After cooking, I put it in my Kitchen aid to shred it. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Fantastic! Used 1 cup of brown sugar and didn't bother to puree the salsa. Suspect diet soda would work fine. Ate on tortillas with chopped green onions and cilantro. Cooked on low over night and then a few more hours on low with the seasonings. Let it sit overnight in the fridge and then heated it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I thought this recipe was wonderful! I went by the recipe except I used pork tenderloin because that is what I had on hand - but I think just about any pork would work. I will definately keep this one on hand. Thanks Dean for fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Just made this and it is fantastic!! I added a little bit of taco sauce to my burrito and the contrast between the sweetness of the pork and the little bit of heat from the sauce was awesome! Will use this from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Thank you Dean for this amazing recipe. The only changes I made were to use 1 cup of brown sugar like other reviewers suggested, I didn't purée the salsa, and I used cherry coke. I served with Mexican rice, corn, tomato, cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
In 5 years using this site, this is my favorite recipe. So good; so versatile. Great in burritos, over rice, on top of salads, etc. So, so good. Helpful hints: - I use a 4lb pork shoulder (because this is so good you'll want leftovers for the week) - I initially cook the pork with the fat on (fat side up in the water), then remove the fat when I cut into quarters and add all the other stuff - Fire roasted salsa makes this great - 1 cup brown sugar is plenty - recommend 3 tbs fajita seasoning and 3 tbs taco seasoning (even a smidge more of both) - The "taco seasoning I" recipe on this site is awesome if you don't have any taco seasoning on hand. Makes the perfect amount for this recipe too. Enjoy. Leftovers heated up and served on top of a salad dressed with ranch = heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
SOO good!! Like many others I only used 1 cup of brown sugar and was glad I did, it was still very sweet but balanced nicely with the taco/fajita seasoning! We didn't have any salsa on hand so i used a can of "chili ready" tomatos instead and it was DELICIOUS! Definitely a new staple in our house! My husband wants to try it as pulled pork sandwiches next time w/sweet BBQ sauce on it! YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
LOved it next time will use less sugar but was so good lil spice was great. My family loves to fry soft shells to a crispy gordita type shell and it made it even better. pretty much just a pan cover bottom in oil heat and lay shell in couple seconds then flip and removed and fold over a rolling pin to get taco shape. YUMMY!!!!! also just put cabbage on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States