Sweet Pork Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved it! I like spicy so this had a good mix of sweet & spicy for me. My boyfriend and son like it but are so used to the traditional chili taste of tomato sauce, etc that they weren't as impressed as me. I added crushed red peppers. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
DH & I just made this today in the crockpot. We were a little concerned about the flavour combination but it turned out amazing! It smelled soooo good while cooking, we could hardly wait to try it. You get - salty, sweet, spicy. We added about 2 lbs of pork chops, cut up and 1 lb of pork sausage meat (no casings). We used a can of crushed pineapple, not drained. Thisis a great recipe that we'll be making again. Give it a try, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
We meat eaters liked this; the pineapple stayed very hot. We had lots of left overs, which I put in the freezer. It was easy enough to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I admit, I made some changes to this based on what I had available, but I stuck to the recipe as much as I could and think it turned out pretty tasty. It had a nice sweet flavor to it and it was definitely a change of pace. I served with cheddar cheese on top and cornbread on the side. The changes I made were: 1)cubed pork loin chops in place of ground pork, that I browned lightly before adding to the slow cooker 2)canned tomato in place of fresh, one drained can per tomato called for 3)Slightly less pineapple than called for 4)additional corn kernels in place of baby corn 5)apple juice in place of apple cider 6)additional brown sugar in place of molasses 7)I knew I would be cooking this for 7 hours, so I cooked on low instead of high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a crazy chili...and it is crazy good too! Smells kinda funky, but taste is all there. I do add something for a little heat, either chipotle, cayenne or crushed red. Didn't have sage or yellow peppers or fresh tomatoes. Used tomatoe puree. Used Chili 3000, but any chili powder would do over plain Ancho. And I think it could use another can of black beans as well. So easy to make. I've made it twice...once a season. It would be fun to bring to a pot luck as something a little different. And if you are a curry hater, don't worry, it doesn't taste curry-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was really good. I added one hot pepper instead of the powder cause I couldn't find the powder. I think mine was pretty spicy, but the sweetness went with it perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Didn't have as much flavor as I was hoping for. I like the sweet/spicy concept, so I'll probably play around with the spices next time. Definitely needed the cheese and the sour cream, and to give more than three stars, I think the chili should be able to stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This chili is delicious! I served it at a large family event, and everyone raved and asked for the recipe. Only changes I made were regular paprika (coudn't find the Hungarian one) and two pints of home-canned shredded pork instead of freshly cooked. Definitely a keeper - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annsley423
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wow- loved this recipe even more than I was expecting! I used regular chili powder and paprika and forgot the brown sugar (oops!) but it was still phenomenal! I added 2 diced jalapenos since I like my chili spicy and it was the perfect balance of sweet and spicy. I served it with shredded cheddar and sour cream. I also mixed half the leftovers with brown rice and brought it for lunch during the week. Both veriations lended well to the chili. I will definitely make this again. It is a unique dish that will surprise you. I would definitely reccommend it for a pot luck as it is a definite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Not being a fan of traditional chili, I really liked this recipe. Would definitely make again. I used 1/2 pork, 1/2 chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States