Sweet Pork Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Didn't have hard apple cider. So substituted 2tbsp cider vinegar and a 14oz can of tomato sauce. And added back some of the (crushed) pineapple juice I had drained. Cut back to 8oz tomato paste. Still a thick meaty chili! DO NOT skip the pinch of cinnamon or the curry. This is the mosy flavorful chili I have ever had. You can actually taste each of the ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Madison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Was a little too sweet for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
We really enjoyed this delicious and different chili recipe. Loved the sweet/savory/salty going on here, especially the addition of the pineapple, yum! With an ingredient list this big I did make a few tweaks based on what I had, used 1 lb ground pork and 1 lb ground chicken (I use this mix in a sloppy joe recipe i make and love the texture and cuts a few calories), a 15 oz can of fire roasted tomatoes instead of the romas, an 8oz can of tomato sauce instead of paste, and doubled the curry, love the stuff. I also added a couple of heaping tablespoons of sambal oleek for some heat. Lots left over for the freezer. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR, a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
We enjoyed this. It was a nice twist on chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I substituted molasses with honey and used regular apple cider. I used pork shoulder chucks instead of ground pork. I followed everything else according to recipe. Cooked in slow cooker all day. The taste was good, a little sweet, a little spicy, a little tomatoey because of the tomato paste. My husband liked it. My daughter thought it was OK but she prefers he ground beef chilli that I normally make. My sons did not like it at all. I thought it was just OK. It was easy but you have to buy all those ingredients and mix all the spices in which can be time consuming. I don't think I'll be making this again but it was good to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
OMG! Outstanding! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except used canned tomatoes instead of fresh, didn't have paprika on hand and used chili powder. Loved the sweet aspect, especially the pineapple flavor. This was a HUGE hit during our SeaHawks game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious chili but I recommend adding crushed red pepper and/or cayenne pepper for heat. We added both because at first taste we thought it was missing something and the heat was it. Highly recommend this recipe. Different but terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was a little too different for my family. I used habanero chili powder instead of ancho, and only used half the ground pork, but my husband wouldn't even finish his and my 18 year old didn't even try it. My 15 year old loved it, my 10 year old struggled through it, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This chili is sweet and that's how I like it!! I heated it up a bit more with some ancho chiles in odobo sauce, as well. As for meat, I use more than the ground pork. I use Italian sausage (spicy), andouille, gr buffalo, gr beef and gr lamb. I do believe the heavens shined down on me while making it because everybody sat back at the end of the meal, with that happy, fat and dumb look on their face! Thanks for making me the hit again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States