Sweet Pork Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
OMG! Outstanding! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except used canned tomatoes instead of fresh, didn't have paprika on hand and used chili powder. Loved the sweet aspect, especially the pineapple flavor. This was a HUGE hit during our SeaHawks game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious chili but I recommend adding crushed red pepper and/or cayenne pepper for heat. We added both because at first taste we thought it was missing something and the heat was it. Highly recommend this recipe. Different but terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was a little too different for my family. I used habanero chili powder instead of ancho, and only used half the ground pork, but my husband wouldn't even finish his and my 18 year old didn't even try it. My 15 year old loved it, my 10 year old struggled through it, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This chili is sweet and that's how I like it!! I heated it up a bit more with some ancho chiles in odobo sauce, as well. As for meat, I use more than the ground pork. I use Italian sausage (spicy), andouille, gr buffalo, gr beef and gr lamb. I do believe the heavens shined down on me while making it because everybody sat back at the end of the meal, with that happy, fat and dumb look on their face! Thanks for making me the hit again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious! Best chili recipe I've made. The pineapple and hard cider give it a yummy sweet flavor. Had zucchini so used that instead of pepper. Next time I'll add more curry because I couldn't taste it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I am obliged to exchange the pork for kosher reasons. Every other ingredient remained the same and it proved excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved it! I like spicy so this had a good mix of sweet & spicy for me. My boyfriend and son like it but are so used to the traditional chili taste of tomato sauce, etc that they weren't as impressed as me. I added crushed red peppers. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
DH & I just made this today in the crockpot. We were a little concerned about the flavour combination but it turned out amazing! It smelled soooo good while cooking, we could hardly wait to try it. You get - salty, sweet, spicy. We added about 2 lbs of pork chops, cut up and 1 lb of pork sausage meat (no casings). We used a can of crushed pineapple, not drained. Thisis a great recipe that we'll be making again. Give it a try, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
We meat eaters liked this; the pineapple stayed very hot. We had lots of left overs, which I put in the freezer. It was easy enough to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I admit, I made some changes to this based on what I had available, but I stuck to the recipe as much as I could and think it turned out pretty tasty. It had a nice sweet flavor to it and it was definitely a change of pace. I served with cheddar cheese on top and cornbread on the side. The changes I made were: 1)cubed pork loin chops in place of ground pork, that I browned lightly before adding to the slow cooker 2)canned tomato in place of fresh, one drained can per tomato called for 3)Slightly less pineapple than called for 4)additional corn kernels in place of baby corn 5)apple juice in place of apple cider 6)additional brown sugar in place of molasses 7)I knew I would be cooking this for 7 hours, so I cooked on low instead of high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States