Sweet Pork Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
We enjoyed this. It was a nice twist on chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I substituted molasses with honey and used regular apple cider. I used pork shoulder chucks instead of ground pork. I followed everything else according to recipe. Cooked in slow cooker all day. The taste was good, a little sweet, a little spicy, a little tomatoey because of the tomato paste. My husband liked it. My daughter thought it was OK but she prefers he ground beef chilli that I normally make. My sons did not like it at all. I thought it was just OK. It was easy but you have to buy all those ingredients and mix all the spices in which can be time consuming. I don't think I'll be making this again but it was good to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
OMG! Outstanding! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except used canned tomatoes instead of fresh, didn't have paprika on hand and used chili powder. Loved the sweet aspect, especially the pineapple flavor. This was a HUGE hit during our SeaHawks game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious chili but I recommend adding crushed red pepper and/or cayenne pepper for heat. We added both because at first taste we thought it was missing something and the heat was it. Highly recommend this recipe. Different but terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was a little too different for my family. I used habanero chili powder instead of ancho, and only used half the ground pork, but my husband wouldn't even finish his and my 18 year old didn't even try it. My 15 year old loved it, my 10 year old struggled through it, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This chili is sweet and that's how I like it!! I heated it up a bit more with some ancho chiles in odobo sauce, as well. As for meat, I use more than the ground pork. I use Italian sausage (spicy), andouille, gr buffalo, gr beef and gr lamb. I do believe the heavens shined down on me while making it because everybody sat back at the end of the meal, with that happy, fat and dumb look on their face! Thanks for making me the hit again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious! Best chili recipe I've made. The pineapple and hard cider give it a yummy sweet flavor. Had zucchini so used that instead of pepper. Next time I'll add more curry because I couldn't taste it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I am obliged to exchange the pork for kosher reasons. Every other ingredient remained the same and it proved excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved it! I like spicy so this had a good mix of sweet & spicy for me. My boyfriend and son like it but are so used to the traditional chili taste of tomato sauce, etc that they weren't as impressed as me. I added crushed red peppers. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
DH & I just made this today in the crockpot. We were a little concerned about the flavour combination but it turned out amazing! It smelled soooo good while cooking, we could hardly wait to try it. You get - salty, sweet, spicy. We added about 2 lbs of pork chops, cut up and 1 lb of pork sausage meat (no casings). We used a can of crushed pineapple, not drained. Thisis a great recipe that we'll be making again. Give it a try, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States