Sweet Polish Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
The most important step is the simmering for 1 hour! You must dispense with the greasiness of the sausage for this to turn out well. It is nice and sweet. If you don't like sweet so much, use less brown sugar. I served this with Polish Cabbage Noodles (found on this site) and the sweetness of the sausage went together very nicely with the cabbage and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This sounds weird but it is delish! The only way I knew how to cook keilbasa was with potato and sourkraut. This is way better served over mashed potatoes! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very good! I used about half of the brown sugar, and I think next time I will only use half an onion. I also used precooked sausage and boiled it for about 10 minutes. It went into the oven with the sauce for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Wow. I loved this. I cut my sausage too thin though. I would cut it 1" next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
The whole family loves it! Kids and all. Not to spicy.....just right. Every time I've made it, I've gotten the same reviews. ***** (Five Stars in my book!) UPDATE: Great as a make ahead dish. We did this and put it in foil to warm up while ice fishing. All you need for utensils are toothpicks. Yummy & easy. Also another good tip is to bake in a glass Pyrex casserole dish. It always caramelizes nicely and looks pretty when serving. Great over rice or over buttered egg noodles. Either way, you will have no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Great way to make sausage! Even my very picky family of 5 all enjoyed this recipe, definitely a keeper. Made just like the recipe called for but added a can of chunck pinapple (will leave out next time!), the only part the family didn't like. Next time I'll stick to the original recipe. Served over rice with steamed peas on side, perfect meal...only problem was there wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' for 5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This sauce was yummy! But, I used precooked polish sausage and the sausage tended to get dried out. Next time I will not cook for the amount of time suggested. Or if there is uncooked polish sausage out there, I will try that. The sauce was soo....good though. I served it over rice. I will take that sauce recipe with me to other recipes. It was certainly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettycrocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this with little smokie sausages I had left over because I bought too many for the holidays. I used pomegranite vinegar instead of the white and it was delicious. Thanks for the easy recipe with loads of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This has been one of our favorite recipes since I tried it a few years back. It always turns out good even when I have to make a substitution or cut the cooking time. We serve it with rice or egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
We really enjoy this dish. I have made it three times. It's easy and quick especially during weekdays when we are all busy. I use the precooked polish sausage and boil it in water for about 5-mins to remove some fat and I follow the instructions to the recipe. I have also reduced the sugar to half of what the recipe calls for. It's not a fancy dish but something about it keeps me coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States