Sweet Polish Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
For having a father in law who was born in Poland I had quite a challenge when I decided to make this. He said it was better than his sisters. We also made potato pierogies and our dinner was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
For taste and preparation this is five stars! I let the sausage cook in the oven for about 35-40 minutes and served over rice.I also added garlic. Next time I will double up on the sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Served with homemade perogies and sauerkraut. Yum, yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
family Favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I used 1 LB turkey kielbasa- boiled it for about 30 minutes then put it in the oven for 50 min. I doubled the sauce. It was good but not great. Seemed like a lot of prep work for the result. Not sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
We liked this! I used turkey kielbasa and only simmered on the cooktop for about 10 minutes. Added ketchup to the sauce ingredients and left out the onion. Baked 30 minutes, then returned everything to the saucepan and added a cornstarch slurry, like others have done. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was BANGIN'!!!! I used the ingredients listed without adjusting anything but I adjusted the cooking time. (just didn't have 2 hours with a hungry teen that would keep asking "When is dinner ready?") I boiled the sausage for 20 minutes while I preparing the other ingredients. I also sauted the onions prior to adding them to the sausage. I cooked it in a dutch oven then drained the water and added the other ingredients, boiled that for a minute or so then added to the oven on 350 for 45 minutes. Ohhhhh yummm!!! The sauce caramalized and was a great contrast of sweet and spice. Next time I may make more sauce to see if I have some extra to put over rice or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RNcarrie75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent way to prepare polish sausage! As with other cooks, I used the slow cooker (three hours on low). This is a flavorful dish served next to mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Zion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Added 1 lg can chunk pineapple & sauce, omitted water & lemon juice. Reduced Worcestershire to 1/4 cup. Added heaping spoonful of cornstarch, and two dollops of ketchup. Heat sauce to marry flavors and cornstarch, then pour into square baking dish, over sausage, which was linked and boiled for about 15 mins. Cover w/foil & bake at 350 for 30 mins. Remove foil, stir, bake 30 more mins, stirring occasionally. Let cool 10 mins, stirring occasionally. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I boiled the sausage for 10 mins and baked for 30 mins per reviews. I only had 1 lb polish sausage so I added more veggies(celery, green pepper, carrots) to the onions. This is a nice and easy base recipe to make when you want a little something different. I increased the amount of water for baking because I added a cornstarch paste towards the end for a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States