Sweet Polish Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
We loved the flavor of this recipe. I followed DC in TX's suggestion and just put everything in the slow cooker after boiling the sausage for 10 minutes. An hour before eating, I mixed in about 2 tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with some water to thicken up the juice to serve it over rice. The only thing I would do different would be to saute the onions before adding them in; even after 8 hours, they were still crunchy, and we prefer a soft, cooked onion. Someone else mentioned pineapple juice and chunks...sounds like a nice idea too! Great versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Recipe is definitely one to try. Even my kids enjoyed this dish! I used precooked sausage & put all of the ingredients in a pot & cooked it for about 15 minutes. I added about 3 additional cups of water for extra sauce along w/a little chicken broth to soften the sweetness. I then thickened it a little with corn starch & served it over rice (w/chicken broth for flavor) and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
So good. I was looking for a different way to cook kielbasa other than sauteeing with onions and peppers. I made it just as the recipe was written and I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this for a potluck and came home with an empty dish :-). I only simmered the (fully cooked) sausage for about 30 minutes and used the cooking water in the sauce (skimming off the fat). I also threw in two cloves of minced garlic and used a bit more hot sauce. Oh, and Splenda blend brown sugar because my Dad's diabetic. It received raves from the party goers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENCELIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hayfork, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Love this! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This my new favorite way to use polish sausage. I took the advice of another reviewer and substituted pineapple juice for the water. I also added the drained pineapple, and a bag of frozen peppers and onions. I put it all in the crockpot on low for 3-4 hours. Served over rice, it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I have made this in the past even my "no I don't want that icky!" Nephew couldn't eat enough. I'll be doing this for dinner a lot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We're not a huge fan of spicey and I wanted to try something different with our polish sausage. Instead I replaced the hot sauce with some maple syrup and added a bit of cornstarch and cold water to a jar, shook it up well, then added that to the boiling sauce to thicken it up before pouring it over the sausage and popping it in the oven. The turned out really nice and everyone liked it! I'll definitely make this again, and maybe even try the hot pepper sauce sometime:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I brought this for an appetizer for a Christmas Eve party - it was inhaled! Everyone wanted the recipe. Thank you for this - I will make it a regular menu item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I boiled some red potatos then chunked up the potatos, onion, and Polish Sauage in a large pot for about 15 minutes. Drained the mixture and fixed the sauce. I then put in baking dish as directed and baked for 30 mins. I then poured into a serving bowl so the flavoring would cover. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States