Sweet Plantain Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Really good - I've never had anything like it. I replaced the ground pork and ham with vegetarian meat crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Delicious, the size baking dish was never specified I tripled the recipe and made my own sofrito with cilantro, garlic,red peppers orange peppers,dash of olive oil,onions basically what ever I had in my fridge jodyk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
really tasty , i added chopped onions , cilantro , fresh green bell pepper , fresh tomato and cheddar cheese on top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
At the suggestion of someone else, I used frozen Goya plantains to cut back on the work a little. I thought the filling for the recipe was tasty, but the plantains were overly sweet. I was hoping they'd taste a bit more savory, like in plantain chips. I don't think I'll make this again, as only 2 of the 6 of us liked it at all, but if I did, I'd try it with plantains that aren't overripe. I won't use the Goya ones again (personal taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I love it and it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykatkeri
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Similar to Pastelon. Pastelon is the Puertorican lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Nueva, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this 2 days ago -- and it was DELICIOUS! Im not a big ham eater - so replace it with sausage which was the only change I made. It was an easy meal to put together....Family loved the meal. Had leftovers today for lunch. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMENENDEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was excellent! We had piononos in PR many years ago and loved them. This satisfied our craving and was so easy. I used Goya frozen prepared plantains (3 pkgs), just thawed them and laid them on the bottom, put the meat mix on top and put another layer. I covered the casserole with one egg beaten with water (1TB) before baking. I made a few changes to the meat mix--I sauteed a sm onion in with pork and used fresh garlic. I wanted more of a picadillo flavor so put in a cpl TBs of vinegar, a healthy pinch of cinnamon and 1/2 c of currants (didn't have raisins) into meat mix. I did not use the ham. I think I will try beef next time as that is more traditional. Will make again and again! DH had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I was craving this for a very long time but I didint know how to make it ! So glad I found this recipe it was very yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States