Sweet Plantain Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Really good - I've never had anything like it. I replaced the ground pork and ham with vegetarian meat crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Delicious, the size baking dish was never specified I tripled the recipe and made my own sofrito with cilantro, garlic,red peppers orange peppers,dash of olive oil,onions basically what ever I had in my fridge jodyk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
really tasty , i added chopped onions , cilantro , fresh green bell pepper , fresh tomato and cheddar cheese on top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
At the suggestion of someone else, I used frozen Goya plantains to cut back on the work a little. I thought the filling for the recipe was tasty, but the plantains were overly sweet. I was hoping they'd taste a bit more savory, like in plantain chips. I don't think I'll make this again, as only 2 of the 6 of us liked it at all, but if I did, I'd try it with plantains that aren't overripe. I won't use the Goya ones again (personal taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I love it and it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykatkeri
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Similar to Pastelon. Pastelon is the Puertorican lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Nueva, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this 2 days ago -- and it was DELICIOUS! Im not a big ham eater - so replace it with sausage which was the only change I made. It was an easy meal to put together....Family loved the meal. Had leftovers today for lunch. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMENENDEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was excellent! We had piononos in PR many years ago and loved them. This satisfied our craving and was so easy. I used Goya frozen prepared plantains (3 pkgs), just thawed them and laid them on the bottom, put the meat mix on top and put another layer. I covered the casserole with one egg beaten with water (1TB) before baking. I made a few changes to the meat mix--I sauteed a sm onion in with pork and used fresh garlic. I wanted more of a picadillo flavor so put in a cpl TBs of vinegar, a healthy pinch of cinnamon and 1/2 c of currants (didn't have raisins) into meat mix. I did not use the ham. I think I will try beef next time as that is more traditional. Will make again and again! DH had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I was craving this for a very long time but I didint know how to make it ! So glad I found this recipe it was very yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States