Sweet Plantain Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was excellent! We had piononos in PR many years ago and loved them. This satisfied our craving and was so easy. I used Goya frozen prepared plantains (3 pkgs), just thawed them and laid them on the bottom, put the meat mix on top and put another layer. I covered the casserole with one egg beaten with water (1TB) before baking. I made a few changes to the meat mix--I sauteed a sm onion in with pork and used fresh garlic. I wanted more of a picadillo flavor so put in a cpl TBs of vinegar, a healthy pinch of cinnamon and 1/2 c of currants (didn't have raisins) into meat mix. I did not use the ham. I think I will try beef next time as that is more traditional. Will make again and again! DH had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I was craving this for a very long time but I didint know how to make it ! So glad I found this recipe it was very yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Similar to Pastelon. Pastelon is the Puertorican lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Nueva, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this 2 days ago -- and it was DELICIOUS! Im not a big ham eater - so replace it with sausage which was the only change I made. It was an easy meal to put together....Family loved the meal. Had leftovers today for lunch. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMENENDEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
really tasty , i added chopped onions , cilantro , fresh green bell pepper , fresh tomato and cheddar cheese on top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I love it and it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykatkeri
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Really good - I've never had anything like it. I replaced the ground pork and ham with vegetarian meat crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Delicious, the size baking dish was never specified I tripled the recipe and made my own sofrito with cilantro, garlic,red peppers orange peppers,dash of olive oil,onions basically what ever I had in my fridge jodyk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
At the suggestion of someone else, I used frozen Goya plantains to cut back on the work a little. I thought the filling for the recipe was tasty, but the plantains were overly sweet. I was hoping they'd taste a bit more savory, like in plantain chips. I don't think I'll make this again, as only 2 of the 6 of us liked it at all, but if I did, I'd try it with plantains that aren't overripe. I won't use the Goya ones again (personal taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States