Sweet Pepper Pasta Toss with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipe is a winner. It went over great with the fiance and our dinner guest, but I would make one small change in the future. I've always been a fan of crisp-tender veggies and am always worried about over-wilting greens, but I wasn't wild about the texture of the kale in this recipe - it was still a little too tough for my taste. Next time (and there WILL be a next time!), I'll chop the kale even smaller, and then cook it alone in the covered pan for a bit, so it will have time to sweat and soften without compromising the crispness of the peppers. If that doesn't work, I'll probably revert to blanching it quickly in the pasta water. Overall, this recipe is a great way to enjoy ultra-nutritious kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Solid recipe with kale! Very flavorful dish - the peppers, garlic and kale all blend together very nicely. I made sausage on the side and was going to add it, but the taste of this dish stands on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Phenomenal! I have taken it to three late summer gatherings and it has been a hit each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Sun-dried tomatoes also go well in this and parmesan is a good substitute for the feta, if that's more your style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was very good, but the kale cooks down a lot, so I suggest quadrupling it to 4 cups. I also suggest putting in only half the recommended amount of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Yum! I followed other suggestions to use 3 cups of kale and I'm glad I did as it really reduces down when you cook it. I used a green pepper instead of yellow so lost some color but the taste was the same. I also used 4 oz. of feta cheese and I think that was plenty; 8 oz would overpower the dish. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Excellent recipe. I doulbled the Kale and spices and a little red hot pepper. I also used goat cheese instead of feta. This is definately a repeat as a main coarse or side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA
Living In: Davenport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Delicious. Used 1/2 the recommended feta cheese and thought it was perfect. Will probably add more kale next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
my first time trying this recipe out - i added a lot lot of kale and unfortunately a little too much cayenne. otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was delicious!!! I added asparagus. I agree you need to add more kale at least 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States