Sweet Pepper Pasta Toss with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Wow, a popping good recipe - served as an accompaniment to vino & formaggio sausage on a bed of butter beans. This sweet pepper pasta toss with kale really hits the mark. Of course, I modified a here and there by 1. roasting and peeling my peppers, and 2. adding 1 tsp vermouth the last few minutes of cooking. An excellent vegitarian recipe - hearty enough for a cold winter's night, but at the same time, light enough for summer fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I tried this recipe as is, and it was great. The second time I made it I cut out the pasta entirely and added sauteed mushrooms.. it's a great use of kale and a wonderful sidedish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very good; nice flavor combination! I made the recipe as described except: used four ounces of pasta (which I typically do with any pasta toss recipe, just because I like a little pasta with my veggies!!); one red pepper on hand; no yellow, so compensated by adding three-fourths cup edamame. I also used four loosely-packed cups of chopped kale, as my purpose for making this at this time was to use up the kale. I kept the methods and seasonings the same. This recipe really doesn't make a sauce, but that's OK because the flavor is there. I did add one ounce of fat-free cream cheese when I heated the leftovers the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is an amazing recipe. Very flavorful as is. The only modification I make is I use whole grain pasta. This recipe is otherwise perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Good quick midweek meal. Next time I will add more kale, as I couldn't taste it too much. But still, the recipe is very tasty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Delicious! The feta cheese is the icing on the cake, so to speak. I added chopped zucchini, used fresh basil, extra garlic, and more than a pinch of cayenne pepper. Also, I added a little water to the vegetables after they had been cooking for a little while. I had never used kale before, but I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
My first recipe from AllRecipes -- made it last night and my wife and I loved it. Very easy to prepare, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Made this for dinner on a weeknight and it turned out fabulous! I added some grilled chicken to make it a bit heartier (for my husband) and he absolutely loved it! It is even better cold than hot in my opinion. I used a different pasta shape than the bow ties and it turned out fine. I really don't think it matters what shape pasta you use. Also, I think any kind of leavy green veggie, such as spinach, would also work well in this recipe. Highly recommended. Will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is a great use of kale - but I suspect that spinach would taste great in this as well. I read through most of the reviews and I modified the recipe based on the feedback that there needed to be a sauce and to double the kale. I used the Butter Sauce that I found on this site and it worked out great. I also added a grilled chicken breast on top of the bowl of pasta, to add some needed protien. I will definately do this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was pretty fabulous...probably a 4.5 star based on taste, and the health factor just bumped it up a notch! I used Barilla Plus rotini (just to make it super-healthy). Would probably use a bit more kale next time, it just cooks down so much (and I love kale!) I was worried because the garlic didn't seem to be browning at all and I was afraid it would be overwhelming, but the flavors just blended so well. Could maybe use a bit more cayenne, just because I like things spicy. I never knew how much I loved feta before I tried this! WONDERFUL. Even got guy friends to eat veggies! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States