Sweet Pepper Pasta Toss with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Wow, a popping good recipe - served as an accompaniment to vino & formaggio sausage on a bed of butter beans. This sweet pepper pasta toss with kale really hits the mark. Of course, I modified a here and there by 1. roasting and peeling my peppers, and 2. adding 1 tsp vermouth the last few minutes of cooking. An excellent vegitarian recipe - hearty enough for a cold winter's night, but at the same time, light enough for summer fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I tried this recipe as is, and it was great. The second time I made it I cut out the pasta entirely and added sauteed mushrooms.. it's a great use of kale and a wonderful sidedish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very good; nice flavor combination! I made the recipe as described except: used four ounces of pasta (which I typically do with any pasta toss recipe, just because I like a little pasta with my veggies!!); one red pepper on hand; no yellow, so compensated by adding three-fourths cup edamame. I also used four loosely-packed cups of chopped kale, as my purpose for making this at this time was to use up the kale. I kept the methods and seasonings the same. This recipe really doesn't make a sauce, but that's OK because the flavor is there. I did add one ounce of fat-free cream cheese when I heated the leftovers the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is an amazing recipe. Very flavorful as is. The only modification I make is I use whole grain pasta. This recipe is otherwise perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Good quick midweek meal. Next time I will add more kale, as I couldn't taste it too much. But still, the recipe is very tasty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Delicious! The feta cheese is the icing on the cake, so to speak. I added chopped zucchini, used fresh basil, extra garlic, and more than a pinch of cayenne pepper. Also, I added a little water to the vegetables after they had been cooking for a little while. I had never used kale before, but I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
My first recipe from AllRecipes -- made it last night and my wife and I loved it. Very easy to prepare, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Made this for dinner on a weeknight and it turned out fabulous! I added some grilled chicken to make it a bit heartier (for my husband) and he absolutely loved it! It is even better cold than hot in my opinion. I used a different pasta shape than the bow ties and it turned out fine. I really don't think it matters what shape pasta you use. Also, I think any kind of leavy green veggie, such as spinach, would also work well in this recipe. Highly recommended. Will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is a great use of kale - but I suspect that spinach would taste great in this as well. I read through most of the reviews and I modified the recipe based on the feedback that there needed to be a sauce and to double the kale. I used the Butter Sauce that I found on this site and it worked out great. I also added a grilled chicken breast on top of the bowl of pasta, to add some needed protien. I will definately do this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was pretty fabulous...probably a 4.5 star based on taste, and the health factor just bumped it up a notch! I used Barilla Plus rotini (just to make it super-healthy). Would probably use a bit more kale next time, it just cooks down so much (and I love kale!) I was worried because the garlic didn't seem to be browning at all and I was afraid it would be overwhelming, but the flavors just blended so well. Could maybe use a bit more cayenne, just because I like things spicy. I never knew how much I loved feta before I tried this! WONDERFUL. Even got guy friends to eat veggies! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by big_al_728

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States