Sweet Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was a 5 star recipe without the 1 cup white sugar, just like everyone said. I made this for a catered wedding and it got rave reviews. I added summer sausage, olives, cubed cheddar cheese and substituted the one green pepper with half of a green and half of a red pepper. The sauce makes enough for 2 lbs instead the one in the recipe (which worked out great since I had a boat load of pasta to make). I loved the tangy sweetness of the dressing. I will definitly be making this salad again!!! Thanks so much for the recipe, it's just what I was looking for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This pasta salad is great as is , my grandmom has made it for years but the key is ....to make it and then let it sit for 24- 36 hours or it will be to sweet and too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This makes a HUGE bowl of salad that is sure to be a crowd pleaser! Thanks, Jan for a quality recipe. I made this last night, following others raters advise, I did not use the cup of sugar it called for. I'm so glad I didn't use it as the sweetened condensed milk is sweet enough. I also added broccoli and grated sharp cheddar cheese. Refridgerated overnight, and had it for lunch today. Very good, though very sweet. The dressing was just right, not too much, not too little, not too thick, not too thin. My only complaint is that I could have used more broccoli since we love broccoli salad. Update: This made so much that I had my son come by to get a big bowl for his supper. He rated it a 4...said it was too sweet. My hubby rated it a 5. So there you go..it's up to the taste buds. I will make it again though, thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
After reading other reviews I omitted the cup of sugar and am glad I did. It would have been WAY too sweet with the sugar. I made half the dressing, it was plenty, and used fat free sweetened condensed milk and light mayo to reduce the calories. In addition I added two Tble of dijon mustard to balance the sweetness. You can add a lot of veggies to up the nutrient value of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have been searching for this recipe! A local grocery store sells a similar salad with the addition of brocolli florets and shredded cheddar. It is quite pricey as well. I tried this recipe and was delighted that it is EXACTLY like the one at the store. I did add the brocolli florets and cheddar and it was wonderful Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I was looking for the sweet-tasting pasta salad like they have at the deli. But this one turned out a little too sweet for me. I adjusted it a little by adding less sugar than the recipe called for and mixing in buttermilk to add some tartness. The buttermilk added a wonderful creaminess and balanced out the sweetness! I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmickchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diessen Am Ammersee, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Yum! My family really liked this recipe. Adjust the sugar to your taste. I throw in some leftover chicken to make a cool, main dish for dinner or a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Someone said it's the mayo that makes this sweet. No. It's the sugar and the sweetened condensed milk. I did not care for this recipe. Way too sweet and you end up with soup for a dressing. Flavors should be subtle not overwhelming, and dressing should be just enough to coat the ingredients with just a dab of the dressing. It shouldn't be dressing with salad. It should be salad with a dressing. Dressing should complement the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
This is by far the most delicious pasta salad I've ever tasted!! my family and I loved it! It truly is a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
this pasta salad is way too sweet. I will never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States