Sweet Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Way too sweet for my taste....probably won't try this again -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Pinkerd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Someone said it's the mayo that makes this sweet. No. It's the sugar and the sweetened condensed milk. I did not care for this recipe. Way too sweet and you end up with soup for a dressing. Flavors should be subtle not overwhelming, and dressing should be just enough to coat the ingredients with just a dab of the dressing. It shouldn't be dressing with salad. It should be salad with a dressing. Dressing should complement the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
this is the first pasta salad my dad as ever liked! :D i like it a lot too but not as good as the kind my dad likes :D i like that its not sharp its more mellow and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
For those people who thought this was too sweet, use Miracle Whip instead of the mayo. I have loved this salad for years, but always use rotini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Smithfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Ok...so, I can't really complain that this was too sweet - what, with "sweet" in the title and all. I just wanted to try it. But... yuck. It was way too sweet for my taste. I won't be making this again.... ever. I should note that my two kids DID like it. Go figure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
OMG this is delicious. I decided not to add the sugar or the salt though. We didn't even wait for it to get cold, we ate it while it was still warm. Oh soooo good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
A little too sweet for my taste... and it makes a VERY large batch. I'd 1/2 it if I make it again for a family dinner. Perfect size for a party though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I just tried this recipe with the following changes and additons: 1) Used 3/4 cup Balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup distilled white vinegar instead of all distilled white vinegar. 2) Only used 1/2 cup of white sugar. 3) Substituted large red sweet pepper for the green pepper. 4) Added 1 16 ox bag of frozen, mixed vegetables ( a combination of carrots, broccoli, white beans, garbanzo beans and green beans with red peppers) that I "nuked" in the microwave for abt 6 minutes. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverdale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I made this about a year ago and it was fantastic! I also leave out the sugar.I honestly had forgotten about it though until I came across the recipe again but I will definitely be making it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
As other reviewers stated I left out the sugar. This recipe was a different taste in our family but well received. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States