Sweet Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Very good mix. I added some dry roasted peanuts and pretzel snaps to give a salty mix to it. This was good and I know it will get eaten quickly. It did make a lot so I got a lot of gift bags filled with it. I thought this had a molasses flavor overall though, but no one else here mentioned it. I made this in two big pans so it was a little more manageable when stirring. This was a nice change from the regular spicy chex party mix, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
5 stars all the way!!! Very easy. Very hard to stop eating this snack! I will gift this in Christmas tins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. I didn't have dark corn syrup so I used light corn syrup;decreased the amount by 1/2 cup; increased the brown sugar by 1/2 cup and it turned out wonderfully. I also added candy corn and halloween colored M&M's to trick it out for the holiday. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker Beth
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is so delicious and addictive! I used Wheat, Corn and Rice Chex cereal, Cheerios, Salted peanuts, pretzels and raisins. The raisins add something special, and I will add dried crans next time. I cooled the mixture on parchment paper and had no sticking. Also, I used two pans to bake to make stirring easier. This is definitely a keeper!! Thanks. update: I made this several more times and am making again today. I added Fritos and the salt/sweet was delicious. I also decided to add the crans after the baking so they don't get hard. I use light corn syrup in the same quantity and it turns out great. My family and friends keep requesting I make more! I have this in my "Christmas" food list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Several people asked me to share this recipe. It is addicting!! Great for a appetizer or tailgating. I used the suggestion of putting in the disposable aluminum pans and that worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Okay, this could be harmful to a diet. I only used 1 c of brown sugar and 1 c of dark corn syrup. I also left out all the nuts it calls for and put in peanuts and bits of garlic bagel bites. As I turned it every 20 minutes, I added a few sprinkles of coarse salt. Once it cooled, I added raisins. I'll make it again and next time have m&m's to add once it cools. :-) A good party snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Amazingly forgiving recipe. I didn't have dark corn syrup, so I used light and added a bit of buckwheat honey and molasses to it for some flavor. I also threw in mini-marshmallows, cheerios, M&Ms and pretzels, plus some cashews and salted almonds left over from who knows when. This recipe can be more "classy" or "trashy" depending on what you add to it. I also doubled the ratio of dry ingredients since my sauce came out pretty sweet and I was making it for a group of adults. This is an extremely forgiving recipe. Also, I just used a disposable lasagna pan that I didn't grease--turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
OOOH MY! Very Good! Easy, if you get carried away adding different dry goods, just up the sauce ingred's by 1/4. The salty and sweet ratio is perfect. It is nice to have a recipe that can be adaptable to what you have on hand, or what you like best! DO NOT CROWD ON COOKIE SHEET, IT WILL COOL IN BIGGER THAN BITE SIZE PIECES IF YOU DO. GIVE IT ROOM TO COOL,re: 2 COOKIE SHEETS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This is some good stuff! I made this for my husbands family that came down to Texas to visit and they loved it! I loved it too! It is soo yummy and addicting! I did change up the ingriendents like some of the other reviewers. I used the corn and wheat crispy square cereal, toasted pecans(I had them on hand), pretzels, and raisins. Once it completly cooled I added a few handfuls of m&m's candies. It is just so good! It did make a lot of mix! Great to bring to parties, which is what I plan on doing at the next party! Very good you need to try. Thanks for a yummy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Baking this really made it crunchy which I like very much but I wasn't overly impressed with the flavor. It was ok. Tastes like sugary cereal. Got good reviews from my daughters birthday party guests. I would make this again for a party as it is a good snack. Seems like it's missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States