Sweet Orange Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I loved this recipe. I would recommend adding a dash of red wine to cut some of the sweet taste, but other than that it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Super recipe! And soooo easy. My husband & I both loved it. The only thing I changed was the cranberries. I had dried Michigan cherries in my fridge so I used them(finally a use those cherries) and am glad I did because they were a tad tart. Also, I took about a cup of the juice and thickened it a little for a sauce which was also a hit with the Mister. This is a keeper. Thanks, Jaynine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I used freshly squeezed orange juice, mixed alittle cornstarch into the sauce after the chicken was cooked to thicken it up, & served it with Jasmine rice, & steamed veggies. Huge hit! A very easy & extremely tasty recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! A real winner! I'm making this again tonight because everyone loved it last time. It tastes wonderful with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was an excellent great tasting and easy recipe. I added extra orange juice and 1/4 cup of marmalade so that I was sure the chicken would get done enough. Then I followed the advice of one of the reviews and thickened the sauce with cornstarch after pouring out some excess orange juice. I cooked the chicken a bit longer to make sure it was done and it came off the bone really easy when we ate it which actually made it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Enjoyed by the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I was sick of chicken the same way all the tim,so I tried this recipe. It sure is a keeper! You'll definitely want to add this to your recipe box! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was really tasty. I used boneless chicken breasts and browned them for a few minutes on each side in crushed garlic and butter. I simmered the sauce in a separate large pan and threw in some chopped green onions, red pepper flakes, orange zest, cornstach for thickness, and omitted the cranberries. Then I put the browned chicken in with the sauce and cooked it till it was no longer pink inside. Then I sliced the breast up and served in on a bed of rice, topped with a little extra sauce. It was really REALLY good. The leftovers tasted even better because the orange flavor soaked through the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
My family loved this! First I lightly browned 2-1/2 lbs. boneless, skinless thighs (trimmed of excess fat). For the sauce, I cut the orange juice down to 1 cup and simmered the chicken in the marmalade/juice/cranberries for 10 minutes. Then I stirred in 1/2 tsp. salt along with 2 Tbsp. cornstarch mixed with 2 Tbsp. orange juice, and simmered the dish for 5 minutes more. It was perfect--moist, sweet, and delicious. I served it with long grain and wild rice, salad, and bread for a very tasty meal. Thank you for a wonderful new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was easy and great! To add to the cooking directions, I boiled the sauce, then put the lid on and cut down to med-low heat for about 20 minutes. I whisked in 2T of flour and let simmer without the cover to thicken the sauce. It would be delicious over rice. The only addition I made to the recipe was that I threw in the tail end (1T) of fatfree huckleberry vinagrette. I doubt this changed the flavor much, though. The marmalade I used is on the tart side, so that might account for the difference in the sweetness. A sweet marmalade would be too sweet overall, imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States