Sweet Orange Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was really tasty. I used boneless chicken breasts and browned them for a few minutes on each side in crushed garlic and butter. I simmered the sauce in a separate large pan and threw in some chopped green onions, red pepper flakes, orange zest, cornstach for thickness, and omitted the cranberries. Then I put the browned chicken in with the sauce and cooked it till it was no longer pink inside. Then I sliced the breast up and served in on a bed of rice, topped with a little extra sauce. It was really REALLY good. The leftovers tasted even better because the orange flavor soaked through the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Update: 1.Use boneless chicken (bones are a hassle). 2. Marinade the chicken in some soy sauce and chopped garlic. 3. If you want the sauce thicker, add a little cornstarch. 4. Optional: Too sweet? I like sweet food but for those who want to cut the sweetness, a) reduce the OJ and add some low sodium chicken stock or b)add a splash of rice vinegar...however this changes the recipe to a sweet and sour recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Super recipe! And soooo easy. My husband & I both loved it. The only thing I changed was the cranberries. I had dried Michigan cherries in my fridge so I used them(finally a use those cherries) and am glad I did because they were a tad tart. Also, I took about a cup of the juice and thickened it a little for a sauce which was also a hit with the Mister. This is a keeper. Thanks, Jaynine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Pretty good recipe, very unusual. I like my chicken crispy, so after 45 min cooking in Dutch oven I took pieces out of sauce and placed them in a Pyrex baking dish - another 15 min at 450 - 500 F. Also added fresh cranberries at this point - added a little tangy flavor. The chicken formed wonderful crust, and all cranberries mixed together into sweet-and-sour clusters. Saved orange sauce was used to pour over the rice. If you follow these instructions, keep the sauce in a separate container - this way chicken will stay crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
My family loved this! First I lightly browned 2-1/2 lbs. boneless, skinless thighs (trimmed of excess fat). For the sauce, I cut the orange juice down to 1 cup and simmered the chicken in the marmalade/juice/cranberries for 10 minutes. Then I stirred in 1/2 tsp. salt along with 2 Tbsp. cornstarch mixed with 2 Tbsp. orange juice, and simmered the dish for 5 minutes more. It was perfect--moist, sweet, and delicious. I served it with long grain and wild rice, salad, and bread for a very tasty meal. Thank you for a wonderful new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I used freshly squeezed orange juice, mixed alittle cornstarch into the sauce after the chicken was cooked to thicken it up, & served it with Jasmine rice, & steamed veggies. Huge hit! A very easy & extremely tasty recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and sauteed boneless breasts with a little garlic. Thickened the sauce with some cornstarch/OJ, added some red pepper flakes and orange rind. It was not overly sweet this way. Served over rice. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Enjoyed by the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
My husband and I enjoyed this chicken. My kids did not like it, but I was pretty sure they would dislike such an "unconventional" chicken. I have used the left-overs in a spinach salad and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My family and friends love this recipe! I add garlic, soy sauce, boneless skinless chicken breasts and 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken it up. I like to add a little more orange marmalade because we love the orange flavor. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States