Sweet Orange Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Super recipe! And soooo easy. My husband & I both loved it. The only thing I changed was the cranberries. I had dried Michigan cherries in my fridge so I used them(finally a use those cherries) and am glad I did because they were a tad tart. Also, I took about a cup of the juice and thickened it a little for a sauce which was also a hit with the Mister. This is a keeper. Thanks, Jaynine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Pretty good recipe, very unusual. I like my chicken crispy, so after 45 min cooking in Dutch oven I took pieces out of sauce and placed them in a Pyrex baking dish - another 15 min at 450 - 500 F. Also added fresh cranberries at this point - added a little tangy flavor. The chicken formed wonderful crust, and all cranberries mixed together into sweet-and-sour clusters. Saved orange sauce was used to pour over the rice. If you follow these instructions, keep the sauce in a separate container - this way chicken will stay crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
My husband and I enjoyed this chicken. My kids did not like it, but I was pretty sure they would dislike such an "unconventional" chicken. I have used the left-overs in a spinach salad and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Easy and very good. Use any dried berries, or white raisins. Add slivered almonds, orange slices. Sauce is good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I used freshly squeezed orange juice, mixed alittle cornstarch into the sauce after the chicken was cooked to thicken it up, & served it with Jasmine rice, & steamed veggies. Huge hit! A very easy & extremely tasty recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I really liked the sauce after I reduced it. We served it over rice and I thought the chicken was good, too. I'm giving this three stars because my husband asked me to never make it again. Maybe he's just not a soggy chicken kind of person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! A real winner! I'm making this again tonight because everyone loved it last time. It tastes wonderful with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was an excellent great tasting and easy recipe. I added extra orange juice and 1/4 cup of marmalade so that I was sure the chicken would get done enough. Then I followed the advice of one of the reviews and thickened the sauce with cornstarch after pouring out some excess orange juice. I cooked the chicken a bit longer to make sure it was done and it came off the bone really easy when we ate it which actually made it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Enjoyed by the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
just too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBLUE7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States