Sweet Orange Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I played with the recipe a little. I used chicken breasts and pan fried them. I also added a little bit of red pepper flakes for some heat and cornstarch for a thicker sauce. I found it a little too sweet and it seemed to be missing something. I probably would make it again and play with it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BJSERINK
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is very sweet and delicious. I added cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit more and use chicken breasts instead. The sauce rehydrates the dried cranberries really nicely while it boils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I really played around with the recipe. I used chicken breasts, and baked it at 350 for about an hour. I also added red pepper flakes. Served with peppers and onions, on a bed of rice, and poured the gravy over everything. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
just too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBLUE7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Enjoyed by the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was an excellent great tasting and easy recipe. I added extra orange juice and 1/4 cup of marmalade so that I was sure the chicken would get done enough. Then I followed the advice of one of the reviews and thickened the sauce with cornstarch after pouring out some excess orange juice. I cooked the chicken a bit longer to make sure it was done and it came off the bone really easy when we ate it which actually made it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! A real winner! I'm making this again tonight because everyone loved it last time. It tastes wonderful with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I really liked the sauce after I reduced it. We served it over rice and I thought the chicken was good, too. I'm giving this three stars because my husband asked me to never make it again. Maybe he's just not a soggy chicken kind of person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I used freshly squeezed orange juice, mixed alittle cornstarch into the sauce after the chicken was cooked to thicken it up, & served it with Jasmine rice, & steamed veggies. Huge hit! A very easy & extremely tasty recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Easy and very good. Use any dried berries, or white raisins. Add slivered almonds, orange slices. Sauce is good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States