Sweet Orange Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My family loves this one! It's so easy to make... I can throw it together in no time. I always add a tbsp or two of cornstarch mixed with OJ at the end to thicken up the sauce. Goes great with wild rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
It was OK; nothing fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was VERY good, and super easy. A quick dinner solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Rally a great recipe!! It is so easy to make and really easy on clean up too! It is a great alternative to regular baked chicken. Every one who has it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This is truly the best recipe I have found so far. I love this chicken and I make it often! There are a few small changes which I prefer and find easier. I use chicken breasts instead of chicken on the bone. I also used jarred cranberries and omit the orange marmalade. Don't forget the cranberries though as they add the perfect tang to them! I did once and I noticed right away. The cranberries are the "secret" ingredient for this recipe. Like other posters suggested, it tastes delicious served on rice. Slice a few oranges or lemons to add while simmering...yummm! I would eat this every day of the week if I could :) Thanks so much for the recipe, I am definitely keeping it! P.S. to the people who found it too sweet: use natural unsweetened orange juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Good for a quick, simple meal. Left as is for the kids. Followed others advice for the hubby and for me (added red pepper flakes). For people looking for sweet and sour chicken, this is not it. Keep the ingredients in mind before making if this is what you are looking for (remember you need vinegar when making sweet and sour chicken)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Delicious. Add cornstarch to thicken up the sauce & red pepper flakes to lessen the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Update: 1.Use boneless chicken (bones are a hassle). 2. Marinade the chicken in some soy sauce and chopped garlic. 3. If you want the sauce thicker, add a little cornstarch. 4. Optional: Too sweet? I like sweet food but for those who want to cut the sweetness, a) reduce the OJ and add some low sodium chicken stock or b)add a splash of rice vinegar...however this changes the recipe to a sweet and sour recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Always a favorite. Tastes great as leftovers. I cook this on med-low for a little over an hour and always add some cornstarch. Very tasty! The flavor is subtle, but the chicken is tender as can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Belgium
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I didn't think it was sweet enough and the sauce wasn't very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States