Sweet Orange Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Did not have orange marmalade, so I just substituted in chicken broth to my taste. What I also added was pine nuts to the brew. Delicious! I then added a side of pre-packaged Stove Top Stuffing and when you mixed the orange/cranberry/pinenut sauce with the Stove Top Stuffing, oh, yum-yum! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovefood

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe is very flexible, and still turns out great! Instead of orange marmalade, and orange juice, I had apricot jam, lemonade concentrate, and some orange juice box type snack drinks. it turned out quite well even with a lacking inventory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
We loved this recipe. I did a brine on bone-in chicken breasts for 2.5 hours which may have been overkill. The chicken was almost too moist, if that's possible. The huge chicken breasts were done at 30 minutes with the lid on the pot. I put craisens in with 5 minutes to go and they were just right. I added a concoction of 2T water and 2T corn starch (mixed) to the remaining liquid and boiled it on high for just a few minutes. The gravy is slightly sweet but probably not too overpowering since my husband enjoyed it; he doesn't like anything that's remotely too sweet. Without the gravy, the chicken barely hinted of orange flavor and needed extra seasoning or ketchup, if you're one of my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
great with coconut rice with pineaplle, bell pepper and onion chutney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I thought the sauce was a little too thin so I reduced it quite a bit before adding to chicken tenders.That didn't help much so I added cornstarch. I browned the tenders first then added the sauce. I added garlic, ginger, salt and pepper to the sauce. In the end I added a splash of balsamic vinegar. I liked this but my kids didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This tasted pretty good with a few modifications...I omitted the marmalade and used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I also sautéed a tiny bit of onion and garlic in some olive oil, then added the chicken breast. Meanwhile, I simmered the orange juice and cranberries and added some corn starch to thicken. I too served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My family and friends love this recipe! I add garlic, soy sauce, boneless skinless chicken breasts and 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken it up. I like to add a little more orange marmalade because we love the orange flavor. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is ok, but just ok. Not good enough to put into the regular rotation. It was too sweet and there wasn't enough of any other flavor to balance that out. Again, it wasn't bad, but we likely won't be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Just tried the bbq sauce of this submitter last week and thought I would try the another of her recipes this week. It was very good, I like the tartnees of the cranberries (especially when they plumped up) and the sweetness of the orange. I did season my chicken with a little Adobo, but other than that I kept the recipe the same. I served over white rice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDKLOVA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States