Sweet Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is very good; the onions come out nice and sweet. I recommend one significant change, however: baking the crumb crust for several minutes before adding the onions and egg/milk mixture, otherwise it ends up soggy. Also, you can switch up what type of cheese you use or add slices of tomato on top for an attractive presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Delicious! I made this into a heart healthy recipe. I used smart balance butter, low fat milk, low fat shredded cheese, 1 egg + egg whites and no crackers. I also added diced yellow and green bell peppers and 1/2 tbsp sugar. Definitely try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was wonderful!! Not for everyone though. I had a lot of people who were kind of afraid to try it but those who did absolutely raved about it. It needs to sit a while before cutting for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Versatility is key. I used Swiss cheese and added diced Canadian bacon. The crust can be compared roughly to a matzoh ball dumpling-not soggy-it's really simple and delicious-if you like onions that is.*Made this recipe again. Used gouda, swiss and parm cheese, used heavy cream for added richness. Topped it with heirloom maters, fresh herbs and voila! PERFECT and everyone loves it - even when they think they won't like onion pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Pretty good! A nice change from the everyday stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delish! I made this with grilled pork tenderloin and a caesar salad and it was a hit! We ate every last bit of it! I took the advice of others and baked the cracker crust for a few minutes before filling with the other ingredients and it turned out great- not soggy at all! I also did not have whole milk on hand, so I used about half a cup of 1% milk and a quarter cup of half and half and it was fine. Next time, I will experiment with some other cheeses, too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very good, and easy! I pre-baked the crust as one reviewer suggested, earlier in the day. Mixed the rest of the ingredients and kept them in the frig. (Chopped the onions, rather than sliced them for easier eating). Put it together and baked it while company was having cocktails. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Fantastic recipe! This has become a staple in my home. My boyfriend loves it, his whole family loves it, our friends...actually, I've gotten a thumbs up all the way around so far. I've been asked numerous times for this recipe. My only substitution (because I knew I couldn't go wrong with it) is that I used half & half instead of whole milk. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VANESSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Made this last night for dinner and it turned out wonderful. My husband raved about it, my 2 year old ate it (he left the pork chop & salad, but ate this), and I was able to eat it without it upsetting my stomach (I am 13 weeks pregnant)! I took some of the leftovers today to work and it reheated very well. The only change I made was to use evaporated milk in place of the whole milk since I was already opening a can for another recipe. This is defintely something I will make again!! Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Great pie. My hubby LOVED it. Even ate the last piece cold right out of the frigde. Will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States