Sweet Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
3 strips of fried, diced bacon is really great when added to this pie. Use the drippings and some butter, if needed, to saute the onion and garlic. 2 - 3 teaspoons of sugar and a pinch or two of grated nutmeg are also great additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My husband says this tastes like gourmet food. I used a refrigerated pie crust because it was easiest, and used skim milk because it's all I had. I did add some cooked, crumbled bacon, too, since I had it handy, but I'll serve this to my vegetarian daughter without the bacon. Inexpensive, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The adults in my family adsolutely salivate at the thought of onion pie. This is a fantastic recipe. I customize it by using Ritz rackers as the crust and adding cheese in the egg mixture as well as sprinkling cheese on top. Thanks, Andi, for putting this recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Pretty good! A nice change from the everyday stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Delicious! I did have to make some substitutions due to what was in the cupboard, but the basic recipe was perfect. I used Italian seasoned panko and regular bread crumbs instead of the crackers, and it made a great crispy crust. I also added in some leftover diced ham and mushrooms to make a complete meal, and mixed a few cheeses in (provolone and parmesan) to help layer some flavors. Everyone raved about it! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
As others have noted, this is an easily adaptable, easy to make recipe, and that's what my rating is based upon. I added a chopped leek and 2 minced shallots because there are few things in life they can't improve, and I used Swiss instead of cheddar. This onion lover will make these changes next time: I will use unsalted butter in the crust and prebake it. The crust was unpleasantly moist and spongey to me., but a bread pudding fan might like it as is. I'd like to try this as an appetizer in a mini muffin tin, and maybe mix a little cracker crumbs with the cheese for a little extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Fantastic! I didn't tell my onion hating 12 year old the name. I told him it was a cheese concoction. He LOVED it. Will definitely make again as it was a hit at home and at my husband's office where the little bit of leftover went. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was a great side dish for our camping trip. We had a wonderful pork loin, and the onions were a fantastic different addition. I may consider using a little yellow squash for a little more volume to the dish. It really had a rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this over the weekend....delicious. I added slices of tomatoes on the top. Fabulous, would make for company in a heartbeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States