Sweet Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Awesome recipe. I fixed it for our family dinner night and everyone loved it! The only problem was there just wasn't enough for everyone to have a large piece! I will definately be making this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was delicious. I made it for a family gathering and there was barely a sliver left for me. I prepared it several days before and froze it for transport. Reheated really well.It's been requested for our next gathering already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Everyone loved it, i added the tomatoes too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Made two versions of this recipe, one for our Sunday morning lady's get-together (with the alterations listed below) and one for my husband and I at home (more closely following the original recipe). Both received compliments but my altered version was a hit! I only changed a few things: used olive oil and water for the crust (no butter since the crackers already had shortening), used 1/2 the butter for sauteing the onions (with olive oil) and caramelized them before removing. Also added 1/4 of a red pepper, chopped, 1/2 cup sliced baby bella mushrooms, and 1/4th of a thinly sliced zucchini (quickly sauteed as the onlions finished browning). Used skim milk instead of whole milk but mixed in melted chevre. Did not add salt, used Italian blend cheese instead of cheddar and added fresh thyme instead of parsly. I'm glad I made the changes since the caramelized onlions, chevre, and thyme gave the pie most of it's flavor. The Sunday version was a hit but the Monday (original version) lacked flavor. Mix it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was awesome! Highly recommend if you like onions. It's a nice replacement for the "usual" green bean casserole made during the holiday seasons. I made it with salisbury steak and mashed potatoes. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Served this to my once a week ladies group and they all raved about a wonderful savory pie. It makes your home smell yummy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was quite good. Evryone was a little afraid to try something called onion pie, but it looked pretty (I put sliced tomatoes on top as several reviewers reccommended), so they ate and thoroughly enjoyed it. I followed many reviewers and cut back on the butter, used swiss cheese, prebaked the crust for 10 minutes, and had part of a can of evaporated milk in the fridge and used that instead of the whole milk. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this the other day and my son-in-law loved it. He took it for lunch the next day and said it was awesome. I'm glad I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
The filling in this is fantastic, but I really didn't like the cracker crust. I even pre-baked it like some other reveiwers did and it was still kinda mushy. i think it would be great in a pie crust and I might try that. I used swiss cheese instead of cheddar just because I think swiss goes better with onions than cheddar does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Have made this twice, second time without the crust. We liked it crustless better and made it in a 8 X 8 square pan instead of pie pan. It's easier to serve in squares. Garnished w/sliced tomatoes, chives and a small dollop of light sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States