Sweet Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I could not bring myself to use a whole 3# bag of sweet onions for just my boyfriend and I, so I just used about half (4 large onions). I reduced the salt for fear that 1 1/2 tsps. would make it too salty. The half and half combined with the swiss cheese made for a fluffy, almost egg-like texture that I liked quite a bit. But, I found the casserole almost too sweet. The other ingredients were not savory enough to contrast the sweetness. Perhaps cooking the rice in a chicken broth and adding spices might help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eecaule
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought this was really delicious with a couple additions. Another review said it needed some spice so I added 3 minced garlic cloves when the onion were almost done cooking. I also added a T. or so fresh parsley, salt (not 1 & 1/2 t.) and pepper to taste. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was good, but couldve been better. It just wasnt creamy enough. we had it with a cauliflower au gratin and mixed together were fabulous. If i do decide to make it again i will make a gravy with the half and half and swiss. Try it, but make a roux with the half&half and some chicken broth/stock and then mix in the swiss then add in the onions and rice-it will be fantastic:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
It was very delicous. The only thing I added was 4 cloves of garlic and I used regular white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Husband said we could make this again sometime. Did add some red pepper flakes for flavor. After in oven, I wished I would have thought to have added mustard powder as I think it would have went well with the swiss cheese flavor. Served with grilled pork chops and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This recipe was the March 23, 2013 Recipe Group Selection. I thought this was a nice side dish that complimented the Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction I had made. Although I was pleased it didn’t compete with the flavors of the steak, I felt it could have had a little more jazz. It was just a little too bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Made for recipe group 3/23/13. WE loved this. Made to go with steak and it was a great combo. I cut recipe in 1/2 and it was a perfect amount to only have just a little leftover. I was thinking some nutmeg for the next time but no changes are necessary really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Karl Weinsteiger
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Did a little crying peeling all those onions but it was well worth it. Made recipe as is. I am thinking I will try it with some sour cream on top as I serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karl Weinsteiger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozrah, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This had nice onion flavor. The rice wasn't very noticeable and the swiss flavor wasn't really there. I used leftover rice so put it in frozen to prevent over cooking. This way baked in 30 minutes. We didn't care for this as a side dish. I wasn't sure what the texture and rice onion ratio would really end up like when I started this but it seemed like just a big pile of onions. This is probably preference and I thought it might be the case so I made it with chile verde tacos. It was a nice topping for the tacos and I would make it for that use again with a couple of tweaks. Made this for recipe group 3/25/13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...We thought this was very good! After reading the reviews, I decided to add a few things...I sauteed garlic w/ the onion (cooked in butter and a bit of evoo). I also used a mix of swiss, Ballyshannon and parmesan cheeses, which gave this a great flavor. I looked really 'white' while I was mixing everything together, so I threw in some parsley for a little color. This had a really nice flavor, and I would make it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States