Sweet 'N Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I did not like the sauce, too hot, I like hot, but not that hot. I won't make it again. Also the meatballs were too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
i have made it for years. so easy and you really dont need a slow cooker-just a regular pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is the recipe we always use, except we use equal amounts of chili sauce and grape jelly, and they are fantastic. I can't imagine using three times more chili sauce than jelly. Also, for all you people who use frozen meatballs - you don't know what you're missing. Frozen meatballs have a coating on them to help preserve them, and the sauce doesn't really penetrate them like it would a homemade meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I have been making this for years but only use 1 jar of chili sauce & 1/2 of a large, or all of a small jar of jelly per pound of meatballs. I sometimes add a small can of sauerkraut ! I use frozen meatballs most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bay, Michigan, USA
Living In: Felch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
My dh likes this sauce with cocktail wienies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
4 Bottles of chili sauce? This sounds more like a sweet and spicy recipe. There is nothing included for the sour component. It may be a nice recipe, but it is not what it is labeled. I am not sure I want to try it... It sounds too spicy for me. I will assume it tastes ok, so will give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Haven't tried this, but it sure looks good. One question though, 48 Oz's. of chili sauce?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I have made this recipe with both frozen and home made meatballs and both ways are great. I add a can of pineapple chunks and they are always a big hit,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Served these at a company party and everyone loved it. I did cheat and used frozen meatballs in place of making my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I cheated and used frozen turkey meatballs. My husband and son went crazy for these sweet and sour meatballs! Can't wait to make them at camp for a snack to munch on. Just put everything in the crockpot on low and enjoy them all day! Great also for a pot luck supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States