Sweet Marie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I found the bars to be VERY sweet. I can only take one small piece at a time... these should last a while. They are very good. The icing I found to be VERY lacking. used about 4 TBSP cocoa powder to get the level of chocolate flavor I wanted for these super sweet bars. I am keeping the recipe, but next time I'll probably try a different cereal and possibly add nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I thought these were pretty good - kind of gooey, but quite tasty. I made them pretty much exactly as written. I used light corn syrup, and creamy peanut butter. For the cereal, I figured 2 cups by volume was correct; by weight would have been a lot! My only hitch was the icing; my butter wasn't softened enough to mix, so I microwaved it a bit. I wound up pretty much melting the butter instead of just softening it, and the icing wound up way too spreadable for my taste, even on the leftovers in the fridge a day or two later. If I make this again, I'll make sure to just soften the butter, in order to get a thicker icing. But overall this was a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used to eat these as a kid. The only change is for the chocolate topping. Use chocolate chips. Broil in oven just long enough to melt them and spread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This recipe is one that I discovered after going through my grandmothers old cookbooks after she had passed away. I made it that very night and I can see why she liked it, it's very sweet and she had a sweet tooth! We really enjoyed it and I will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This sweet confection comes together really fast. Be sure to have your dish buttered before you start! I made a double batch of this and put it in a 9 x 11 dish. I followed another reviewer's advice and used 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips melted with 2 Tbs. of butter for the topping. People couldn't keep their hands off these! Next time I will add some chopped peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Really good! I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa instead of teaspoons and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very Good, I'll be trying these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
It is tasty bar but the frosting is pretty bad. If it had a more chocolatey, candy-like frosting this would be a 4-5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very good...do not over heat the sugar/syrup mixture or you will end up with dryer krispy treats. I add a square of chocolate to the frosting instead of cocoa powder and it turned out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Super-sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States