Sweet Marie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I love this receipe, I have been making this receipe for years and have always wanted to add this receipe. I also add 1 tbsp of butter or margarine to the sauce pan when I am melting the peanut butter mixture. I also add 1/2 cup of spanish nuts (peanuts with brown skins on) to receipe before I add the rice krispies. This is amazing, I always make at xmas time or when ever I need to bring squares for an occassion. They are always the first to go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This sweet confection comes together really fast. Be sure to have your dish buttered before you start! I made a double batch of this and put it in a 9 x 11 dish. I followed another reviewer's advice and used 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips melted with 2 Tbs. of butter for the topping. People couldn't keep their hands off these! Next time I will add some chopped peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These were ok. I used only 1-1/2 T milk and the icing was the perfect consistency. I also put them in the frig for about 15 minutes to set up. If I make them again, I would prefer a more chocolate-y icing...more cocoa or maybe the chocolate chips other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used to eat these as a kid. The only change is for the chocolate topping. Use chocolate chips. Broil in oven just long enough to melt them and spread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Really good! I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa instead of teaspoons and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
It is tasty bar but the frosting is pretty bad. If it had a more chocolatey, candy-like frosting this would be a 4-5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made a double batch and used a 9x13 pan. The recipe just says to melt the first 3 ingredients. I actually let them bubble a minute or so and would let them bubble longer the next time so they would set up a little firmer, but that's just a consistency preference of mine. I added an extra 1/2 c. peanut butter to the double batch as I love peanut butter and for the topping, I melted 2 Hershey milk chocolate bars and drizzled them over the top. I used the rice cereal, but think I may try them with corn flakes the next time. They're a delicious addictive sort of treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These are awesome! I always double the recipe and use a 9x13 pan. They disappear in a flash. My kids and their friends love them. I store them in the fridge for a firmer texture. Great easy recipe for a snack in a hurry that pleases most anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
A big hit with everyone and definately one I will make often although I doubled the recipe. No point in going to that work for a small batch. Too yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
These are THE BEST! I made them for my brother who is allergic to all dairy products and eggs. (I didn't make the icing- only the bars.) All I can really say is... YUM!!! The peanut butter flavor wasn't too intense and the crunch of the cereal and the smoothness of the peanut butter were the perfect combination. Because my brother is allergic to just about everything in the icing, I dusted the top with confectioners' sugar and cocoa. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States