Sweet Marie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I found the bars to be VERY sweet. I can only take one small piece at a time... these should last a while. They are very good. The icing I found to be VERY lacking. used about 4 TBSP cocoa powder to get the level of chocolate flavor I wanted for these super sweet bars. I am keeping the recipe, but next time I'll probably try a different cereal and possibly add nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I thought these were pretty good - kind of gooey, but quite tasty. I made them pretty much exactly as written. I used light corn syrup, and creamy peanut butter. For the cereal, I figured 2 cups by volume was correct; by weight would have been a lot! My only hitch was the icing; my butter wasn't softened enough to mix, so I microwaved it a bit. I wound up pretty much melting the butter instead of just softening it, and the icing wound up way too spreadable for my taste, even on the leftovers in the fridge a day or two later. If I make this again, I'll make sure to just soften the butter, in order to get a thicker icing. But overall this was a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used to eat these as a kid. The only change is for the chocolate topping. Use chocolate chips. Broil in oven just long enough to melt them and spread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This recipe is one that I discovered after going through my grandmothers old cookbooks after she had passed away. I made it that very night and I can see why she liked it, it's very sweet and she had a sweet tooth! We really enjoyed it and I will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This sweet confection comes together really fast. Be sure to have your dish buttered before you start! I made a double batch of this and put it in a 9 x 11 dish. I followed another reviewer's advice and used 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips melted with 2 Tbs. of butter for the topping. People couldn't keep their hands off these! Next time I will add some chopped peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Really good! I added 2 tablespoons of cocoa instead of teaspoons and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very Good, I'll be trying these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
It is tasty bar but the frosting is pretty bad. If it had a more chocolatey, candy-like frosting this would be a 4-5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very good...do not over heat the sugar/syrup mixture or you will end up with dryer krispy treats. I add a square of chocolate to the frosting instead of cocoa powder and it turned out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Super-sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States