Sweet Maple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Wow...these were absolutely amazing!! It took a while to prepare, but in the end, the taste was out of this world, and very much worth the effort. Some of the oatmeal did come off, but not enough to alter the taste. I fixed this meal for a special occasion, and it will stay that way. We could easily eat this once a week, but the high fat and calories would show eventually! :) UPDATE: To cut the calories, I used Promise spread in place of butter, half and half instead of the cream and used butter lite syrup. The taste was still amazing, and I will prepare it that way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I made this recipe and my husband LOVED IT. We both love the sweetness of maple syrup so adding this to a main course was just heaven. He thought it was the best thing I've ever made. Thanks for a winning recipe. The only thing i did differently was added extra oats, this fell into the sauce and helped add texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This recipe was amazing. Everyone who came to Sunday dinner was so impressed and delighted with the sweet flavor and the tender porkchops. The only thing I changed was I had to use more oats for the coating than the recommended amount. Some of the oats fell of during cooking but this made the sauce have a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. A quick recipe that had complex flavors that make it seem like a difficult meal. The actual amount of oats needed was closer to a 1/2 cup per chop, the amount of cream was closer to one cup for the breading and one cup at the end for the sauce. The amount of maple syrup could be reduced to a 1/2 cup to avoid making the dish overly sweet. Also, depending on the size of your pan, the amount of oil could be reduced to 2 cups for browning chops. I would say this was an intermediate level recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I loved this recipe and so did my boyfriend, it will be added to my favorites. I did leave out the onions because my boyfriend doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Wonderful! I was looking for recipes to get rid of a gallon tin of Canadian Maple syrup, and was a bit iffy about preparing this, but the reviews sold me. It turned out so great!! My extremely picky mate scarfed down his chop and helped himself to another. The dish smelled divine cooking, it looked so great plated up too. (I served the chops on a bed of whole wheat angel hair with maple green beans.) I agree with the others, I used a lot more oats then called for, and I did not need near the amount of cream for the breading (I used 2 cups and still threw out a good 1/2 cup or more). I will be adding this recipe to my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I took a look at this recipe and thought it was surely a disaster... boy was I wrong! It was delicious. The onions were a nice compliment that brought the sweetness down a little. I used way less cream than what was called for but used a lot more oats. Messy but worth it. I just wish there was a healthier version so I could make this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I gave this 5 stars because it had a very nice flavor but it was a big mess, the oatmeal wouldn't stay on during cooking, there was more in the skillet than on the chops. Next time I am going to try putting the oatmeal in the blender first to make a powder out of it, then dip the chops in it. Also, I see no need to use a whole quart of oil, next time I will use a small amount in the skillet, I think that the oats will stick to the chops better that way. I don't see why all that cream is necessary, seems like you would only need a cup to dip the chops in. But it does have a nice flavor and is worth trying again, and hopefully I'll get better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
EXCELLENT! EVERYONE ENJOYED IT! NO LEFTOVERS! MADE A FEW CHANGES. ADDED 1 CUP OF QUICK COOKING OATS INSTEAD OF 1/2 CUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Tremendous! Made this for my husband and then for my parents and it was a success all around. A restaurant down the street makes something similar and my family thought this was better. Only issue was some of the oatmeal fell off while cooking...but it still was fantastic! Great dish for guests or dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States