Sweet Maple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Excellent recipe! Followed recommendations and cut cream and oil and added bread crumbs to oats. Also dipped chops first in breading, then cream, then back to breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The only reason I rate this a 3, is because the flavor is absolutely delicious. However, the actual recipe as far as quantity goes was way off from what I found. 3 cups of heavy cream for the coating is entirely too much. Turned out to be maybe 1 cup needed, and 2 cups in the trash. In order to coat the pork chops, a lot more than 1/2 cup of oats is needed as well. I don't see the need to double-coat them either, as when you put the chops into the liquid after putting the oats on they just fall off into the liquid, which wastes more oats. Most of the oats fell off while frying also, and for pan frying, you need nowhere near a quart of oil. Following the recipe exactly would mean throwing away at least 2 c. each of oats, heavy cream, and oil..which really spoils the recipe for me. The flavor of the sauce is incredibly good, but in the future, I will prepare the pork chops in a more practical and less wasteful way, and then make the sauce seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe sounded delicious to me, but when I actually tried it, it was above and beyond delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvan Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Pawling, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Excellent! I used italian bread crumbs instead of oats and they stayed on the chops. I also only used enough oil to pan cook the chops--just enough so that there was oil around them, but not covered. The chops were moist, very flavorful and the whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Swansea, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My husband said, "you should make pork chops like this all the time!" I cut back on the oil (it seems like the original recipe meant to really "fry" the chops, not just pan-fry). I also only used 1 cup of cream for the coating. Sure, the oats came off here and there, but they just added to the yummy sauce. I absolutely love this and will make it over & over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
my coating came off therefore making the texture of the sauce nasty. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Loved them. Very easy to make. Had a little trouble with the oats sticking but some were still there in the end and it was delicious! Highly recommended to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This dish is fabulous. My whole family raved about it. Big hit with the kids because of the sweet taste. Used extra thin pork chops and doubled the portions except the maple syrup. Some reviewers did not like it too sweet and if I had doubled the syrup it would have overpowered the dish. Made it with panko (Japanese bread crumbs) which seemed to stay on pretty well. I also cut way back on the oil. I also used fat free half and half as another reviewer suggested. My husband is asking me to make this dish for the holidays! Thanks so much for this scrumptious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This is a very good recipe. It can get a bit messy but is worth it. It also is very sweet, so if you are not into having something very sweet, cut back on the syrup a bit. I've shared this with my friends. Definitely a weekend dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States