Sweet Lamb Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Yum! This was a spectacular dish. I used all the ingredients exactly as specified. However, I found meaty lamb bones on sale and used those because I could not find cubed lamb stew meat at the market. I softened the onions,browned the meat, and brought the all ingredients to a boil as directed, then threw it in the crockpot to simmer. The lamb fell off the bones! I paired this with a cucumber-cilantro raita recipe I found on this site. Add some indian bread or rice and you have a 5 star dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I cooked this for Mother's day and it was VERY tasty and not too sweet. I cooked it again with chicken drumsticks and the meat was falling off the bone it was so juicy. I didn't have any Granny Smith apples but Braeburn worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I wasn't sure how that combination would be but took a chance and now we have it once or twice a month. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Incredible. This will be a menu staple from now on - the raisins were plump and beautiful, and the apple reminded me of the curry my grandma made in Japan. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
GREAT DISH. The lamb is so tender and the whole thing just pops. Maybe add a little spice or salt to try and reduce the sweetness. But Great Dish! Serve on a bed of basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Just like a 5-star indian restaurant meal! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was great! I made one change, I left out the raisins and added more curry powder. I served the mixture over rice. Then I had a choice of condo mints to place on top, such as mango chutney, raisins, coconut, banana, bacon, chopped onions, chopped eggs, and peanuts. Delicious and a huge hit with family and guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Have made it twice and for a group of friends last night and it was a total hit! I almost burned it....actually did a little but it tasted great. A good one to make for company...one pot meal. I used chicken thighs for could not afford the lamb, but it was delicious indeed. Outside of changing to chicken, I kept to the recipe. We love Indian food and go constantly to a wonderful place. I actually found this recipe on their site, and when I hit the picture it took me to this site...which is my favorite and to this recipe. Ate there a few days ago and thanked them for sending me to this site and recipe! My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very different, very flavorful. I used ground beef instead of lamb and cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anything but chef jeff
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It made a great dish that tasted very genuine like from an indian restaurant. My only complaint is more a personal taste issue in that it was way too sweet. I did see a review that recommended leaving the brown sugar out. That might be a good option to try next time. Overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Lamb Shank Vindaloo

See how to make a spicy, Indian-style curried lamb stew.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States