Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a family favorite. Minor modifications to the recipe added sliced carrots, used double the spinach, used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh and removed the sausage out of the casings and crumbled. Just delicious. I have also made this soup using left over italian sausage from game night and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Really really good! I made a few small changes but I think it made it better. I used my favorite Sweet Italian pork sausage, omitted the wine, butter, and added half an onion which I sautéed with the garlic. Amazing! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was a good soup that was really easy to make. I also did not have any fresh tomatoes so I used a large can of diced. I also added more chicken broth and white wine since I like more of a broth. Bought some sourdough bread to go along with it and topped with some romano cheese. Definitely a quick and easy dinner that my husband and I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
We loved it! I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used canned diced and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACK
Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Very hearty and filling soup. I couldn't find the brand of chicken sausage I was looking (I had a coupon) so I subbed smoked sausage (lite) instead. Also was out of white wine so I just subbed chicken broth for it instead. I used a tri-color tortellini (the soup looked just too white and gray) that was filled with a mixtures of about three-four different cheeses. Also instead of fresh tomatoes I used canned petite diced tomatoes. I didn't add anything else and my family loved it! I served it with slices of french bread and parmesan cheese. Recipes for me are "suggestions". Feel free to mix it up, make substitutions, additions, etc. for your personal tastes/preferences. I'm definitely gonna add this to our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My family really liked this soup, I did however have to use ground Italian sausage (that's what I had), and I didn't have white wine so I used more broth, and I used petite chopped canned tomatoes instead of fresh. We sprinkled our bowls with parmesan cheese, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margaret
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was delicious! I added some buttered bread as a side and it was so good! Very easy to make. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Pretty good over all, I used canned tomatoes with worked great. It was great the first day, but by the second day, the spinach was pretty limp and kind of gross. I used fresh spinach when I made it, so that may have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was delicious! I made it using the Jalapeno flavor instead of Sweet Italian flavor. Grumpy was sick with a cold so I thought the heat from the sausage would work well for him. I also used a semi sweet white wine - the kind I like to drink and I feel that made it perfect! (I buy Brianna from Coyote Vineyards in Clayton, NY). I omitted the extra butter, I felt we didn't need it. This will definitely be on my table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Ohmygoodness! I LOVE this! What a wonderful, flavorful and healthy meal! Easy to pull together and it keeps well for lunches during the week. This will be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States