Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is perfect for a chilly night and a movie. It's great as is, but I prefer heartier and spicy meals, so I add sliced carrots, mushrooms, diced onion and seasonings (sea salt, black pepper, basil and dried Mexico Chile pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was the best tasting soup I have ever made!!! I even cheated by using a can of diced tomatoes and it was still amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Easy, economical, and delicious. I used a 13 ounce bag of frozen tortellini(plus an extra cup of water), a can of diced tomatoes in place of fresh, and 10 ounces of fresh spinach roughly chopped. Big, big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was awesome. The only things I did different was use my favorite sausage, (HEB brand chicken, spinach and feta cheese) and I added some red pepper flakes. This was so good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Love this soup! Easy to make and healthy! This is my boyfriends favorite soup now, and he asks me to make it all the time. I used canned petite diced tomatoes and it still comes out great. I also use a different sausage...an italian turkey sausage that doesn't have fennel seeds, since 'ive never liked them. i also remove the casings from the sausage before cooking, since i found they tend to fall off in the soup. i don't add anything extra, since all of these flavors just work so well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khaleesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Just made this dish tonight and it was delicious! My husband loved it. I will definitely be making this dish again. I made one small revision by adding some fresh green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was amazing. My children loved it. I had to use regular italian sausage because thats all I could find, However, I know the chicken or turkey kind taste just as good to me. I left out the wine because my kids don't like that flavor in cooking. Wish I could have used it though. I did add a pinch of red pepper flakes, and used a can of diced tomatoes instead. This is a keeper though. next time I hope i can find the turkey italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Valencia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Just made this for dinner. 2 adults, 1 teenager and 2 kids...not a drop left! I used gluten free pasta and broc. onion & carrots instead of tomato. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Add vegetables and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent!! I made this on Christmas Eve to be served on Christmas Day. I prepared it except for adding and cooking the tortellini, this allowed the flavors to marry and develop. Before serving I added and cooked the tortellini. I made as directed except for a few minor changes: used 7 oz canned petite diced tomatoes, drained - chicken sausage with mozzarella, peppers and sun dried tomatoes - and 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning. I also cut the garlic down to 2 very large cloves. Numerous people said the broth was fabulous with great depth of flavor! I tried making again tonight but did not have tomatoes so used 6 oz roasted red sweet peppers diced. It was very good, but I think it will be even better tomorrow after broth rests overnight, that is "key" to developed depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States