Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Very good soup. I halved the recipe for just my husband and me which made me use 9 oz. of the tortellini. I used a 12 oz. package of Johnsonville apple flavored sausages, though, because my area doesn't carry Al Fresco. I did not agree with many others that there wasn't enough broth for the noodles. I thought it was perfect! Maybe because there was more meat in it to balance things out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Yummy flavor! I couldn't find cheese tortellini without spinach so I used ravioli. We do not like spinach so I omitted it in all forms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Such a yummy soup! The Al Fresco Chicken sausage is so good! I followed this recipe to a tee. I think it could have benefited from a little more broth but otherwise it was perfect! Quick and easy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was an extremely easy and flavorful dish. I used the Al Fresco cooked Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage in this recipe and it had a great flavor. I used canned tomatoes and chilies instead of fresh tomatoes since I had that on hand. It was a very quick easy and flavorful dish. Next time I will probably add a little italian seasoning as I like bold flavors and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
It was excellent! Having said that, I had converstated with a few others before making this and took in to the suggestion others stated there was too much tortellini in the recipe. I in mind was going to use the 9oz package I bought and not to use the 19oz that I bought that was frozen. Well, I ended up using the 19oz by mistake(because I got distracted) And saw what others saw. Too much and not enough of the yummy yummy broth this recipe made. SO I did follow to a T, and after seeing I didn't have enough broth. I measured out an additional 1/4 cup of white wine & 21oz of chicken broth. And that was it. I didn't feel it needed any spices. We loved it the way it is written with and additional amount liquids. I'll make again because I got my husband to eat spinach. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I just loved this soup. I did add a few more veggies, carrots, onions, etc., but I don't think that it hurt the recipe at all. I will most definitely be using this recipe again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is super fast to prepare - I do have a slight change - slice the sausage on the diagonal and THEN to a quick saute - much faster that way. I added in a small amount of italian seasoning, but otherwise no changes. This would also be good w/ cannellini beans added into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I was surprised how delicious this soup was. It had a light, fresh taste. My whole family enjoyed it. It was quick and easy to make, which is always a plus. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was VERY good! I couldn't find the 16 oz. package of sausage. The store only sold 12 oz. packs. The only change I made was to saute the sausage in the garlic because I heard that these sausage had a strong fennel flavor...I'm not a fan of fennel! The fennel wasn't too strong for me at all! I also added 1 tsp. of salt to the soup and garnished it with shredded provolone cheese for some extra flavor...YUM!!! We loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I had opened boxes of chicken and beef broth in the fridge, so I used a combination of the two. The pkg of tortellini was 20 oz, so I used the entire package and then added a bit more chicken broth. Served with some grated Romano cheese on the top. Very nice, easy, and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States