Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is tough for me to rate because I don't like sausage (not Al Fresco, I just don't care for ANY sausage). Regardless, I very much enjoyed the soup. Would I make it again? Perhaps, just w/a substitution for the sausage! This is def worth making if you like sausage (for those of you wondering why I would make this if I don't like sausage, it was an All Star assignment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made this today with 3 cheese tortellini. I thought it added color & I had it on hand for a salad I'm going to make. I simply love this soup! Thank you Al Fresco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
We loved this recipe! Thank you Al Fresco! I did have to make some changes though. I didn't feel like there was enough broth for the amount of noodles, so I chose to double the broth (I used chicken base and water as I didn't have any homemade broth on hand). I used Sake for the wine as that is what I had open, and I have to say it was very nice! The flavor of the broth was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Very good soup. I halved the recipe for just my husband and me which made me use 9 oz. of the tortellini. I used a 12 oz. package of Johnsonville apple flavored sausages, though, because my area doesn't carry Al Fresco. I did not agree with many others that there wasn't enough broth for the noodles. I thought it was perfect! Maybe because there was more meat in it to balance things out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Yummy flavor! I couldn't find cheese tortellini without spinach so I used ravioli. We do not like spinach so I omitted it in all forms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Such a yummy soup! The Al Fresco Chicken sausage is so good! I followed this recipe to a tee. I think it could have benefited from a little more broth but otherwise it was perfect! Quick and easy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was an extremely easy and flavorful dish. I used the Al Fresco cooked Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage in this recipe and it had a great flavor. I used canned tomatoes and chilies instead of fresh tomatoes since I had that on hand. It was a very quick easy and flavorful dish. Next time I will probably add a little italian seasoning as I like bold flavors and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
It was excellent! Having said that, I had converstated with a few others before making this and took in to the suggestion others stated there was too much tortellini in the recipe. I in mind was going to use the 9oz package I bought and not to use the 19oz that I bought that was frozen. Well, I ended up using the 19oz by mistake(because I got distracted) And saw what others saw. Too much and not enough of the yummy yummy broth this recipe made. SO I did follow to a T, and after seeing I didn't have enough broth. I measured out an additional 1/4 cup of white wine & 21oz of chicken broth. And that was it. I didn't feel it needed any spices. We loved it the way it is written with and additional amount liquids. I'll make again because I got my husband to eat spinach. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I just loved this soup. I did add a few more veggies, carrots, onions, etc., but I don't think that it hurt the recipe at all. I will most definitely be using this recipe again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is super fast to prepare - I do have a slight change - slice the sausage on the diagonal and THEN to a quick saute - much faster that way. I added in a small amount of italian seasoning, but otherwise no changes. This would also be good w/ cannellini beans added into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States