Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I read the list of ingredients on the package of al fresco(R) All Natural Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage so it was no surprise to me that there was fennel. What surprised me was the amount of fennel that could be tasted. Hopefully, this was a fluke and not all of the pkgs have as much as mine did. Thanks al fresco for the free coupon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was delicious! I sauteed some onion w/ the garlic and used a can of diced tomatoes (w/ the juice) in place of the fresh tomatoes, which are not very good right now. Loved the flavor the white wine gave to this. Very simple to prepare. I will be making this again! Thank for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Simple, easy, and delicious. You could add a million wonderful veggies to this if you wanted, or make exactly as writted. I did not use the full amount of sausage indicated, and was more than happy with the soup. I also diced a bit of zucchini and sauteed to add. Thanks for the quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We thought this was quite good. I do think as written it needs a little something. I used canned diced tomatoes with green chilis which added a nice kick and simmered longer to let the favors marry. I did have to use a different brand of Italian Chicken Sausage, as Al Fresco is not available in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This soup is fantastic! I did change a few small things, but not enough to make it a new recipe. I only used half of the tortellini called for and replaced the other half with chopped red onions and thinly sliced sweet mini peppers. I also used rainbow Swiss chard out of my garden instead of baby spinach just to utilize what I had on hand. I added a nice pinch of crushed red pepper flakes and this is a nice, light supper for 4. For the white wine, I used a 2007 Californian Sauvignon Blanc. I have nothing but high praises for this recipe. Thanks, al fresco for submitting it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Hubby declared this an absolute keeper. I used spicy sausage just because we prefer a little kick. And I added some chopped carrots and half an onion. I used spinach tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was so easy and delicious. I used a can of chili-ready tomatoes and spinach because I did not have fresh on hand. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This left us feeling warm and satisfied. I folled the recipe exactly, except I left out the butter at the end and added some ground pepper, majoram, and basil. I'll definitely be adding this to the regular rotation! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I literally just finished eating this soup. It is amazing! I used 2 bottles of Weinhard beer and Better Than Chicken jarred stock and some water. Also used up the last of the garden tomatoes that miraculously ripened in the house. Next time I'll use canned tomatoes. I also added Italian herbs as suggested in some of the other reviews and of course my secret ingredient, Bragg's Amino Acids...a MUST for soup. This is a beautiful recipe that is very adaptable! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
It was good, but didn't knock my socks off. I was expecting more, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States