Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This soup is so delicious! I was skeptical, thinking it would be bland with basically no seasoning in the broth. I expected to have to add some herbs, salt, something....but I was wrong. The al fresco sausage was so flavorful that once I added it back in and let is simmer a bit the flavor was excellent. Red wine went into this soup since I had no white wine on hand. I did add fresh ground pepper and some grated fresh Pecorino cheese to serve. We all enjoyed this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I love this recipe...I added in some sliced green onions and I used a can of diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning...great week night meal! Second review...I added black olives...LOVE it! Third review, that is how much I love this, this time I used portabella stuffed tortellini...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was a huge hit in our home! The broth was so flavorful and the sausage and tortelinni were the perfect balance. I took other reviewer's suggestions and increased the broth a bit and it was delicious! This is a recipe that I will make often! Thanks, Al Fresco for making such an incredible chicken sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
We liked the soup but giving it four stars because if you add all the tortellini (18oz) that is calls for it won't be soup as all the liquid is absorbed by all that pasta. I had to add 2 cups of broth but next time I would only use half the tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
The fresh Chicken Sweet Italian Sausage was not available in my area so I used the precooked sausage and browned them in a little oil until heated through. I used whole wheat fresh tortellini and vegetable broth since I had some to use up. I love the simplicity of this recipe. So quick and easy and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I should rate this 3* since I felt the need to make several changes to get it up to par, but the final outcome was 4.5. I added onion to the garlic, and also added a small grated carrot. I sliced the sausage before sauteing, added Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, sea salt, and freshly cracked black pepper. I also felt it needed for chicken stock. Just before serving, I topped with a little Parmesan and Romano cheeses. My husband really enjoyed this, even though he didn't care for this same sausage in another dish. This is a great use for this sausage. I would make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This soup was very good. Although, I did need to add some seasonings. I also was not able to get al fresco unless I drove 50 miles, so I used Aidella's which was a little greasy compared to what I have heard about al fresco brand. I also added more spinach when I reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is tough for me to rate because I don't like sausage (not Al Fresco, I just don't care for ANY sausage). Regardless, I very much enjoyed the soup. Would I make it again? Perhaps, just w/a substitution for the sausage! This is def worth making if you like sausage (for those of you wondering why I would make this if I don't like sausage, it was an All Star assignment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made this today with 3 cheese tortellini. I thought it added color & I had it on hand for a salad I'm going to make. I simply love this soup! Thank you Al Fresco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
We loved this recipe! Thank you Al Fresco! I did have to make some changes though. I didn't feel like there was enough broth for the amount of noodles, so I chose to double the broth (I used chicken base and water as I didn't have any homemade broth on hand). I used Sake for the wine as that is what I had open, and I have to say it was very nice! The flavor of the broth was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States