Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
We enjoyed this very much. I added extra chicken broth, spinach and tortellini. I sliced sausage and then browned really well. My husband who is not a tortellini fan really liked this soup. He did mention I should use even more spinach next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
A little bland for my taste, would spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
My husband and I loved this soup. The kids didn't care for it, and I think it may have been due to the wine. Also, our store didn't carry the Italian al fresco sausage, so I substituted the garlic sausage which was a little overpowering, but we liked the soup nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This soup is so delicious! I was skeptical, thinking it would be bland with basically no seasoning in the broth. I expected to have to add some herbs, salt, something....but I was wrong. The al fresco sausage was so flavorful that once I added it back in and let is simmer a bit the flavor was excellent. Red wine went into this soup since I had no white wine on hand. I did add fresh ground pepper and some grated fresh Pecorino cheese to serve. We all enjoyed this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I love this recipe...I added in some sliced green onions and I used a can of diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning...great week night meal! Second review...I added black olives...LOVE it! Third review, that is how much I love this, this time I used portabella stuffed tortellini...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was a huge hit in our home! The broth was so flavorful and the sausage and tortelinni were the perfect balance. I took other reviewer's suggestions and increased the broth a bit and it was delicious! This is a recipe that I will make often! Thanks, Al Fresco for making such an incredible chicken sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
We liked the soup but giving it four stars because if you add all the tortellini (18oz) that is calls for it won't be soup as all the liquid is absorbed by all that pasta. I had to add 2 cups of broth but next time I would only use half the tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
The fresh Chicken Sweet Italian Sausage was not available in my area so I used the precooked sausage and browned them in a little oil until heated through. I used whole wheat fresh tortellini and vegetable broth since I had some to use up. I love the simplicity of this recipe. So quick and easy and pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I should rate this 3* since I felt the need to make several changes to get it up to par, but the final outcome was 4.5. I added onion to the garlic, and also added a small grated carrot. I sliced the sausage before sauteing, added Italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, sea salt, and freshly cracked black pepper. I also felt it needed for chicken stock. Just before serving, I topped with a little Parmesan and Romano cheeses. My husband really enjoyed this, even though he didn't care for this same sausage in another dish. This is a great use for this sausage. I would make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Stirring up Trouble
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This soup was very good. Although, I did need to add some seasonings. I also was not able to get al fresco unless I drove 50 miles, so I used Aidella's which was a little greasy compared to what I have heard about al fresco brand. I also added more spinach when I reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States