Sweet Irish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Friends and families alike have raved about this bread. I've tweaked a few things around to use what I had at hand. Here goes: fat free sour cream instead of the real one. Threw in other dried fruits I had stock instead of raisins. It worked out well. It is a tad bit dry, but oh so perfect to top it with jams, honey butter, and what have you. This is a keeper and inked in my cabinet! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troubled Eggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Moist and sweet. I used golden raisins and cranberries. Also, I used 3/4 cup Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I baked them in a bar pan for 45 minutes. These were delicious toasted and served with coffee the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this today for the first time and my family loved it. We had corned beef, cabbage, carrots, potatoes and this bread. What a treat! The only change I made was using splenda instead of sugar. I used the same amount it called for. It turned out great! Will definitely make it again next year for St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
As I'm typing this, it's baking right now; ten minutes ago, after an hour of baking, I inserted a knife through the crown as directed and it came out chunky and still dough-y. Just a second ago, after I added ten minutes, I did the same thing and it still didn't come out clean. I could already tell this bread would be tasty, but I think the time needed should be adjusted... unless it's just me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is quite nice. Mine turned out a little dry, but we had custard with it and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was such a simple and nice tasting bread. I left out the raisins and added cinnamon in the middle of the loaf for a swirl. Baked up nice and high. However, the first loaf I made I left out the baking soda and it came out flat and dense and a tad fudgy...so I tore it up and added the stuff to turn it into bread pudding and it was awesome:) Thanks for the recipe! It is great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Recipe looks very simple, and from the reviews I have read, looks yummy as well, will try it today....St. Patrick's Day. Have been looking for an Irish sweet bread that is simple and doesn't have to rise, thought the soda bread recipes I have found online were not sweet enough, so will try this...wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made this tihinking my sister would like this so I added the raisins. She never even tasted it but I did. I loved the bread, I hate cooked raisins ( am a wee bit fussy), so next time I will omit the raisins. But I ate the whole bread by myself and told my brother about it. He has taken the recipe home with him so he can make it. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful recipe ! I made the following changes : 1) Used 1 1/4 C of dried mixed fruit bits (apples, apricots, plums, cherries, raisins) and chopped dates, in place of just the raisins. 2) Added 1/2 C of toasted, coarsely chopped almonds. 3) Added 1 teaspoon of cardamom and 1teaspoon of ground ginger. 4) Baked it for 65 minutes. Just after taking the bread out of the oven, I loosened the bread from the pan and wrapped it in many layers of aluminum foil (in order to keep the moisture in). Tastes dense and cake-like, and is even better the next day. Yummy ! I am definitely going to make this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
A tasty quickbread recipe that is simple--both in preparation and flavor. I enjoyed the moistness of it...I used golden raisins, as it's what I prefer. For extra St Patty's Day color, I threw in a handful of white chocolate swirl chips (white and green... fished out the red/white swirl from Christmas!!) It was actually quite a hit with a few people... they also enjoyed the subtleness of the flavors. Just a good, moist quick bread. Not a regular, go-to recipe, just a nice change up. Happy to give it a shot again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States