Sweet Irish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I wanted a change from my old raisin bread recipe, plus I had sour cream that I wanted to use up so I was delighted to find this recipe. All I got to say is "Wonderful!" This bread isn't like your typical bread though...it came out moist sort of like a cake but it is so good! I added in 1/2 cup extra raisins to the batter cause I love raisins. I only made this bread last night and half of it is gone already! (That's alot considering it's just me and my dad eating!) It's really good with a glass of cold vanilla milk. I'll definitely be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is absolutely delicious. I didn't have any sour cream or plain yogurt on hand, so I used vanilla yogurt instead. The result may have been sweeter than intended, but I think it's fantastic. The bread wound up sinking a bit in the middle, but the taste far outshadowed the appearance. Thank you so much. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is so delicious!! I have made it many times and it always is a huge hit. My family cn't get eonough of this. It is nice and moist which makes it stand out from the rest. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef Anel
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Considering you don't need yeast for this recipe, it turned out WONDERFUL! I had the kids help make it and they loved the end result. The entire bread was gone in one night. I hate bisquick so trust me that it doesn't come out like bisquick. Eat it warm with a pat of butter, great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Absolutely wonderful bread. Not too sweet, and kinda reminds you of a nice sweet cornbread at the same time...raisins add an awesome flavor, too. I used light sour cream to save some fat & calories, it is as moist as other sour cream cakes I have tried. This is a tasty recipe, try it, you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Yummy Yummy Yummy This was great. I used the Splenda baking blend and my family can't get enough of it. I don't bother sifting the ingredients; I just use a fork to stir. I've sifted and I can't tell a difference. It's a little time consuming, but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious! Wonderful! I didn't have any sour cream so I substituted vanilla yogurt. I didn't have raisins either, so I put in dried blueberries. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is an awsome breakfast loaf. I used nonfat plain yogurt instead of sour cream and 1/2 cranberries and 1/2 rasins. The results are awsome,I can't wait to toast it because the crispy outer layers of the bread are soooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I was looking for a Irish soda bread recipe but saw this one and tried it first. I made it exactly as written except used lite sour cream. This bread is delicious and will be good toasted with a little butter on it. I think next time I will use less sugar , maybe 3/4 cup instead of the whole cup. This is a must for anyone that loves warm bread right out of the oven and would be great with a cup of hot tea. Very tasty , very moist.....5 stars Peggy Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoseInOhio
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this sweet bread just the way the recipe called for...I changed nothing! It was wonderful! I will be passing this recipe down to my grandchildren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States