Sweet Irish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Yummy Yummy Yummy This was great. I used the Splenda baking blend and my family can't get enough of it. I don't bother sifting the ingredients; I just use a fork to stir. I've sifted and I can't tell a difference. It's a little time consuming, but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I wanted a change from my old raisin bread recipe, plus I had sour cream that I wanted to use up so I was delighted to find this recipe. All I got to say is "Wonderful!" This bread isn't like your typical bread though...it came out moist sort of like a cake but it is so good! I added in 1/2 cup extra raisins to the batter cause I love raisins. I only made this bread last night and half of it is gone already! (That's alot considering it's just me and my dad eating!) It's really good with a glass of cold vanilla milk. I'll definitely be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I also used the Vanilla yogert, but added a dash of vanilla extract and a tablespoon of cinnamon. I served it at work for St. Pat's day with icing on the side. Toasted, then spread with icing it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Absolutely wonderful bread. Not too sweet, and kinda reminds you of a nice sweet cornbread at the same time...raisins add an awesome flavor, too. I used light sour cream to save some fat & calories, it is as moist as other sour cream cakes I have tried. This is a tasty recipe, try it, you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Photo by chef Anel
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Considering you don't need yeast for this recipe, it turned out WONDERFUL! I had the kids help make it and they loved the end result. The entire bread was gone in one night. I hate bisquick so trust me that it doesn't come out like bisquick. Eat it warm with a pat of butter, great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Very yummy. I used half the amount of butter and added some applesauce as a substitute, also low-fat sour cream and part whole wheat flour. This came out with a very nice flavor and texture -- I was surprised that such basic ingredients combined to have so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This tastes like BisQuik biscuits with a little sugar and raisins added. Nothing special, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is so delicious!! I have made it many times and it always is a huge hit. My family cn't get eonough of this. It is nice and moist which makes it stand out from the rest. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is absolutely delicious. I didn't have any sour cream or plain yogurt on hand, so I used vanilla yogurt instead. The result may have been sweeter than intended, but I think it's fantastic. The bread wound up sinking a bit in the middle, but the taste far outshadowed the appearance. Thank you so much. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States