Sweet Ham Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Didn't care for this much. Tons of liquid when the 8 hours were over. Seemed more boiled than slow cooked. Not alot of flavor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna6271

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
i changed quite a bit, but still used the same idea :) i used a can of sprite instead of water, half cup of brown sugar, half cup of oj, and chunk instead of crushed pineapple, and added cherries at the last hour and a half. cooked all day in the slow cooker, and was sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I made this with a fresh, 5 lb ham...Wonderful! There were a few problems, though. There was way too much liquid at the end, and the rind cooked completely off. Also, it was so tender it was falling off the bone, which makes it hard to slice. I think next time I make this I will reduce the orange juice by half, and possibly knock an hour or so off the cooking time. Other than that, this recipe was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I did not like this recipe at all. The combination of orange juice and pineapple left a very bitter flavor. I thought that adding some more brown sugar would help, but it didn't. I ended up pouring the entire thing out of the crockpot and just putting in water, brown sugar and honey to save my ham. At least I can say this much - the ham cooked very well in the crock pot despite the fact that my pot seems to burn things often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I tried this for a holiday dinner and it was great! I thickened the sauce with a little corn starch after it was done and served it as a glaze at the table. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I did not care for this recipe but I gave it a "3" because it might be better using fresh ham instead of canned ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Tasted bitter to me, not sweet. It was edible, but I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong since all the other reviewers loved this recipie. It came out horrible. We ended up having to eat out since no one wanted to try the ham. It was overcooked and smelled awful. I was really disappointed since I was looking forward to this meal all week. I followed the directions to the letter, but it was still awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Yummy and easy, what more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States