Sweet Grilled Shrimp Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Annied
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
My take on the reviews was that this was a recipe worth trying but probably too sweet so I made some big cuts on the sweetness and a couple of other minor tweaks. No brown sugar, 1/2 the honey. about 1/4 cup molasses. I used avocado oil as a healthier oil choice and Newman's Creamy Caesar dressing as it's what I had on hand. Huge hit with a picky foodie family! I grilled pineapple slices with balsamic vinegar drizzle to accompany it, steamed bok choy with Bragg's amino acids & garlic, fresh garden tomato salad and cauliflower rice. Will definitely make this again. Very glad I changed the marinade although honestly it's the ratios rather than volumes plus ingredient flavors in combo that matter. I kept more of the molasses for the unique flavor. I could see adding more chili powder or even a dash of sriracha and I am not a heat freak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Ah...mmmmm...azing it does not matter if you don't have all the ingredients. it will come out great. i used 1/2 the sugar and 1/4 the molasses. but boy o boy was this fantastic. Will use again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunapee, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Orford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The taste is outstanding. My daughter made these at a family get together and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
When my hubby first picked out this recipe, I thought the flavor combinations were really strange and there was way too much sugar in it, but it was really good. Not too sweet! Definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Entirely too sweet. I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This shrimp has become legendary around our neighborhood - I've made it for several parties, and my husband turned his work buddies onto it as well. It's absolutely excellent - only change was to cut down the amount of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Oh, this is a wonderful recipe for shrimp!!!! My kids just adored this stuff. I followed the recipe with one exception as I did not have any ranch dressing (imagine a house with eight kids with NO ranch dressing-unheard of!!!) but the shrimp grilled in this sweet and spicy sauce were excellent anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
The "sweet" in the name intrigued me, never would have thought of sweet shrimp but these are really, really good. Hint to other posters, when "sweet" in in the title name, expect sweet! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Gregory Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Make sure to use uncooked shrimp. I used cooked because it was what I had, and they were very tough. The recipe is very very very sweet...a little too sweet for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
DH gives this one 5 stars, I would give it 4 stars. It was good, very sweet. I think the flavor was good but it overpowered the shrimp flavor and I love the flavor of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States