Sweet Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Ok, I have to admit that I showed this recipe to my husband so we could make fun of it. Little did I know he'd be intrigued! He made it for lunch today and really enjoyed it. I tasted it, and it wasn't bad although I did stick with a plain ol' grilled cheese for me. Only change he made was to use a medium sharp cheddar instead of american cheese. Thanks for the recipe, and sorry I doubted you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I just had to make this as soon as I read it because it sounded so interesting and it's easy to make. I was pleasantly surprised! I accidentally burned it and it still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I liked this recipe. I guess I must have a well developed sweet tooth, because I almost wanted to put more brown sugar on this sandwich! The brown sugar melts into a yummy syrup in between the cheese slices. I'll probably make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
It definitely was different than a regular grilled cheese. The sweetness was a little strong so I would suggest to others to put less brown sugar than the recipe calls for. Otherwise I really liked this and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I had one of these sweet grilled cheeses 35 years ago at a friends house for lunch one day and loved it. I still eat them this way once in awhile. Worth trying people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was good but I only used half of the brown sugar that the recipe called for, muenster and cheddar cheeses, with medium salsa as a dipping sauce for the sandwich so I'd have sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This recipe was really (REALLY) sweet. I wouldn't make it again, but it tasted o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Austen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I was intrigued by this recipe. I thought that I would make it for my son and myself for lunch. It wasn't bad, at all. Just very different. I made one with American cheese and one with cheddar. I think I liked the chddar better. My 3 yr old ate the american and said "I don't like sugar in my grilled cheese." I don't think I'll be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I discovered many years ago (quite by accident) that cheese and sugar can work well together, but I'd never have thought of making it into a sandwich. It's a good change of pace from the normal stuff, and you can use dark or light brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Not bad, I think as a previous poster wrote, I would have liked it with a cheddar cheese and maybe even some apple sliced paper thin on a nice sourdough bread. It will be something I will experiment with, I think my kids will enjoy it after they get over the shock that mommy is letting them have sugar for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States