Sweet Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Ok, I have to admit that I showed this recipe to my husband so we could make fun of it. Little did I know he'd be intrigued! He made it for lunch today and really enjoyed it. I tasted it, and it wasn't bad although I did stick with a plain ol' grilled cheese for me. Only change he made was to use a medium sharp cheddar instead of american cheese. Thanks for the recipe, and sorry I doubted you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
I just had to make this as soon as I read it because it sounded so interesting and it's easy to make. I was pleasantly surprised! I accidentally burned it and it still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Not bad, I think as a previous poster wrote, I would have liked it with a cheddar cheese and maybe even some apple sliced paper thin on a nice sourdough bread. It will be something I will experiment with, I think my kids will enjoy it after they get over the shock that mommy is letting them have sugar for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was not a hit with us. It was just really weird. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I thought this sandwich was just ok. It was a little sweet for my taste (and I've got a sweet tooth), so if I do make it again, I will cut down on the amount of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I discovered many years ago (quite by accident) that cheese and sugar can work well together, but I'd never have thought of making it into a sandwich. It's a good change of pace from the normal stuff, and you can use dark or light brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Enjoying the Sweet Grilled Cheese Sandwich as I type this review and it tastes really good. Tastes lots better than the plain everyday Grilled Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I was intrigued by this recipe. I thought that I would make it for my son and myself for lunch. It wasn't bad, at all. Just very different. I made one with American cheese and one with cheddar. I think I liked the chddar better. My 3 yr old ate the american and said "I don't like sugar in my grilled cheese." I don't think I'll be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Worth a try, but a little too sweet for us. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
It definitely was different than a regular grilled cheese. The sweetness was a little strong so I would suggest to others to put less brown sugar than the recipe calls for. Otherwise I really liked this and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States