Sweet Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This was so good. The brown sugar melts and sets off the saltyness of the cheese so well. Definitely going to try this again and pass it on to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
When I was a kid, my family would always serve sliced cheddar with our pancakes, and the similar sweet-salty combination in this recipe made me run to the kitchen and make it right away. Wow! I would never have thought these two ingredients would go together, but it was so delicious. I used whole wheat bread and cheddar cheese. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Interesting! :) I like it! :) hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I just had this sandwich. In a million years I would've never thought to put brown sugar on my grilled cheese. This was really good! It tasted like a grilled cheese but with a nice hint of sweet to it. I measured out the 2 tsp of brown sugar. I thought 1 would be enough, but I really think the 2 are better. Clean up was a breeze, too! Thanks Teresa L!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I have a real sweet tooth and I loved this sandwich! I think its a nice change from the plain old cheese sandwich but Next time I'll add even more brown sugar! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This recipe was really (REALLY) sweet. I wouldn't make it again, but it tasted o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Austen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Hmmm. What can I say? These were okay, but not fantastic. They tasted fine and I could have gotten by with using only 1 slice of cheese. The brown sugar tended to drip a little as it was runny when hot. Not bad, but not memorable either. I probably won't make it again, but it really tasted just fine, just not my thing. Thanks, it was fun to try something new as I would never have thought of this on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I'm enjoying this sandwich now! My hubby and I have these once a week, and I usually just make mine a plain ol grilled cheese, and his gets ham and sliced jalapenos. I wanted to try something different, so I served these tonight! and let me say...I find them to be sooo good! Just the right amount of sweetness. Having said that, I did not measure the brown sugar...just eyeballed it. I served with what I like to call "Poor man's spaghetti": which is cooked noodles (I used whole wheat penne), and pour in ketchup, chili sauce, garlic powder, and black pepper to taste...serve warm. A quick, easy supper! Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYK82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
A strange combination to think about however the kids LOVED it! I used colby/jack cheese with multi-grain bread and it really was good! We will be making this again, maybe not ever time we have grilled cheese but whenever we want that extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I liked this recipe. I guess I must have a well developed sweet tooth, because I almost wanted to put more brown sugar on this sandwich! The brown sugar melts into a yummy syrup in between the cheese slices. I'll probably make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States