Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2001
DELICIOUS! However, my husband thought the bacon could be crispier, so I may try to half-cook the bacon before wrapping next time to see if the bacon gets crispier. Also, I substituted fresh COOKED green beans because I think they held up better being stacked into a bundle and looked more presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
I have made green beans like this for several years except that I don't make bundles. I use the brown sugar, butter mixture as a sauce. I also use french-style beans. I always get compliments when I make these beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
These were really good. My Husband is not much of a green veggie person and he really like them too. I microwaved the bacon a little bit before wrapping. I think for just regular family meals in the futre I will crumble the bacon into the beans. Looks like a million in the bundles though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I made these for Thanksgiving and my in-laws loved them. The funny thing is they ate them as appetizers! I did remove the cover after 15 minutes and baked the green beans for about 15 -20 more minutes and the bacon seemed to cook more. I already have requests to make these for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
The BEST green beans I every had!! I did not make in bundles, I just mixed the green beans and bacon together and poured the butter and brown sugar mixture over it. It was made for a party and was a big hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I accidentally bought cut green beans instead of whole ones so I couldn't make the bundles. I pre-cooked the bacon, cut it in one inch pieces and mixed it together with the green beans before pouring the sauce over. I also substituted garlic powder for the garlic salt because the canned beans I bought had salt in them. I thought this was a terrific recipe. My husband and children didn't like that it was sweet but it is definitely not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Absolutely the best green beans I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Yum these are my favorite. This is just like my recipe, glad I found yours before I posted mine. I used this as one of the appetizers I served at my wedding. Everyone loves these!! They look fancy like something you would see in a restraunt. Sometimes instead of wrapping them in bundles I will put 5 cans of cut green beans into a glass baking dish, sprinkle with garlic salt, cut bacon into peices and place on top of the green beans covering all,then sprinkle brown sugar over the top and pour one stick of melted butter over the brown sugar and bake at 350 for 1 hour or until bacon is crisp. I do this when I am serving a large group and it's better for those who want the bacon more crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
These taste so good, however it was kinda hard to get the bacon crispy enough. Will make again and again! Since trying the first time I have revised it by not bundling the beans, but simply cutting some lightly cooked (until fat just starts to become liquid)bacon up and adding it to an 8x8 pan with the other ingredients. It is a wonderful holiday sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I used cans of french style green beans and made into a casserole, and it was so wonderful. It gave me something new to do with greenbeans other than the usual. The sweet flavor is almost a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States