Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
3.5 Stars, really. I made this recipe as an alternative to the traditional green bean casserole for Thanksgiving. Kids gobbled these green beans up. I, however, found them to be too sweet. I will make them again, but I will definitely use less sugar next time. I also boiled for about 5 minutes then blanched to make cook time a little less when it was time to bake. Easy to prep ahead of time and just throw into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I've been making this for 3 years. Here are some hints: use the canned whole green beans, use only 5 beans per bundle and wrap with a 3rd strip of bacon. Cut up a stick of butter & scatter throughout the pan after the bundles are in. Sprinkle with the brown sugar and garlic (I use garlic powder). Cover & bake for 30. Uncover and bake an additional 15. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were fantastic! So good, in fact, that I didn't make enough of them. Even my anti-veggies father-in-law loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJPurpleLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made these this Thanksgiving and they were a HUGE hit! I used fresh green beans that I blanched for about 3 minutes. I also cooked the bacon in the microwave for 2-3 minutes before making the bundles. I used a little more butter than suggested to get the right consistency and then baked them for 35 minutes at my house covered and once we arrived at y grandmother's I put them in the over for 15 more uncovered! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this dish for thanksgiving this year. It was a huge hit and a great alternative to the green bean casserole! I drained the brown sugar and butter after I cooked it. I had to travel with it and had no issues! It easily warmed up in the oven and still looked great! I'm adding this to my family menu now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karid01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
2010-11-25 I used haricot verts instead of regular green beans. The beans were blanched for about a minute and a half and the bacon was partially cooked beforehand. I used some of the bacon grease to coat the baking pan. The beans were bundled in groups of 10. The amount of sauce seemed excessive and was very thick. I ended up microwaving the sauce before spooning it over the bundles. I cooked them for 30 minutes covered in foil then uncovered them for the last 10 minutes. They were sweeter than I prefer and would cut back on the brown sugar if I made them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was easy, nice presentation with great taste. I used frozen organic green beans. I forgot to cover mine and they came out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
great recipe. i ate a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These were an excellent addition to a pork roast dinner I prepared a while back. They were surprisingly easy to prepare; I worried that they would fall apart in the oven, but they held together beautifully. They only got four stars instead of five because with all the fat and sugar, they really don't count as a vegetable anymore. But I'm sure they'd make a great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Simply Awesome - I am not a veggie eater so I try to find ways to make them edible for me - I could have eaten every single one of these - the taste was amazing. I was not sure how they would turn out cuz the brown sugar and butter just wouldnt mix well and it didnt "pour" - I had to kind of spoon it on and spread it out but it baked perfectly - I used the microwave bacon and cooked them for about 20 seconds (4 slices) then wrapped - also used fresh green beans that I blanched first. I was also making the bacon ranch salad which i use turkey bacon for so i cooked up a couple extra strips and made a few with turkey bacon - those were just as good. These would be great for Thanksgiving - cant wait to impress the family with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States