Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
ME and my family loved this recipe it just adds a little fancy to dinner instead of serving just plain old green beans...the only thing I did different is I cooked the bacon half way then cooled it then wrapped the green beans and baked them not as long.We like our bacon crispy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This is more like a dessert, but soooooo good!! I didn't wrap the green beans because I had canned french green beans. I just laid the bacon on top and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
We have several people in our group that are dairy sensitive so I made 2 batches of these; one exactly at written and one that replaced the butter with coconut oil. Both were delicious and got raves at the party. I think the one with coconut oil was just a little bit tastier. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This recipie was a huge success with my family. We have a big garden so I used fresh beans that I blanched and removed the foil and baked for ten more min. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
The 1st time I made this was years ago for Thanksgiving with a bunch of friends,we were doing a bacon themed Thanksgiving. Used fresh green beans that we steamed for a few minutes, partially cooked the bacon so it would be crispy, and then after assembling the bundles and sprinkling with brown sugar and butter we also sprinkled with some slivered almonds to fancy it up a little bit. Needless to say there weren't any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Had a little trouble having the bundles stay together but I think wrapping them tighter with less beans in them would do the trick. I used fresh green beans that I steamed for this. Everyone seemed to enjoy these - though not quite as much as I did, probably because I'm the big green bean fan in the house. But even my picky husband had a few bundles without me forcing him, so it's a great way to sneak some vegetables in for those who hate anything green. Better to eat beans in bacon than no beans at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This is a family favorite and is quite versatile and forgiving. I prefer fresh green beans, cook time is the same. Sometimes I add loose brussle sprouts cut up in the free space of the pan. Sliced Cabbage works well with this recipe too. (only way my kids will eat cabbage) It works well as a base for a variety of veggies but I do cut back on the sugar and butter. I use about 1/2 to 3/4 cup brown sugar NOT packed, and about half the butter. I have on occasion omitted the butter and I don't taste a huge difference. (use water in place of butter otherwise the sugar crunches up) We also love to add crushed nuts sprinkled on top when we have them on hand. (Walnut, pecan, pistachio, and almond are our favs) I like to pull off the foil in the last 10 min to make the bacon crisp up, but I pour off the "fat and juice" into a container so it does not evaporate off. Reason being, it will keep in the fridge for about a week and a half and freezes well, and next time you go to make this recipe you do not need to add the butter or sugar again...just bacon wrap your veggies and pour the saved mixture over it and your done. When I reuse the juice like that, I save it 1 more time and dump it in my broth when I make ham and bean soup...yummm! Bonus, no waste. If your concerned about heart health, read and learn to make bacon from pork belly. It is far healthier than store bought which is why farmers who ate their own bacon and eggs often, did not die early of heart disease or cancer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! Followed recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
have made this three times,three different dinner parties, Everyone loved it!! I used frozen beans each time and turned out perfect!! Thanks for such a great and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States