Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
When cooking for a party, time is always of the essence! So I turned this into a two-step process and it came out EXCELLENT, earning rave reviews from my guests! Not only was the taste great, but the presentation (the bundles) was impressive too, making me really look like a gourmet cook to my guests! The night before the party,I used fresh green beans and blanched them, then I lightly fried the bacon before wrapping the bundles, covered the baking dish with foil and put it in the refrigerator. The next day I made the sauce, poured it over the bundles sprinkled with garlic powder (instead of garlic salt), covered the dish with foil, then put it in the oven at 350 degrees for 1/2 hour. Turned the oven off, let it sit. Then right before serving time, turned the oven back on, removed the foil covering and cooked until heated through (about 10-15 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Yum these are my favorite. This is just like my recipe, glad I found yours before I posted mine. I used this as one of the appetizers I served at my wedding. Everyone loves these!! They look fancy like something you would see in a restraunt. Sometimes instead of wrapping them in bundles I will put 5 cans of cut green beans into a glass baking dish, sprinkle with garlic salt, cut bacon into peices and place on top of the green beans covering all,then sprinkle brown sugar over the top and pour one stick of melted butter over the brown sugar and bake at 350 for 1 hour or until bacon is crisp. I do this when I am serving a large group and it's better for those who want the bacon more crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Wonderful recipe - The only change I made to this is that I used fresh green beans that I had steamed. The bundles are very yummy and make a wonderful presentation as well! Everyone raved about these at my Thanksgiving Dinner this year! This is a keeper! You can also do most of the prep work in advanced for a big meal such as Thanksgiving I discovered. For this recipe I steamed my green beans in advanced then wrapped them in bacon and placed on a cookie sheet that was lined with wax paper and froze the bundles. Once frozen I took the bundles off and placed them in zip bags (only to free up space in my freezer and get rid of the cookie sheet). Then on Thanksgiving Day I pulled the bundles out and let them thaw on the baking pan I was planning to cook them on and continued with the recipe by adding the sweet sauce on top before baking. I was thrilled they turned out so well - and I didn't have to rush and make them at the last minute either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Like other users I used fresh green beans. I also prepared a day ahead of time so life was easier the day of the dinner party. I boiled fresh green beans for 5 minutes and fried the bacon 4 minutes. After assembling the bundles I covered the casserole dish and placed in the fridge. When it was time I covered them with the brown sugar mixture and baked them for 30 minutes covered and then another 15 minutes uncovered to crisp the bacon. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
The BEST green beans I every had!! I did not make in bundles, I just mixed the green beans and bacon together and poured the butter and brown sugar mixture over it. It was made for a party and was a big hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I've been making this recipe for years now. It was one I got at a pot luck. My recipe differs a little and you might prefer it. I only use 3/4 of a cup of brown sugar (and I don't pack it very firmly), I use 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper, and 1-1 1/2 tsp worcestershire sauce. I cover the whole thing and bake at 350* for 20 minutes, then take the foil off and bake for another 15 minutes. No broiling necessary that way. I give this recipe 5 stars because it is VERY good...but...it is NOT to be confused with a green bean side dish. Meaning you can only eat 3-4 of them...and they really are best in a pot luck setting, that way everyone gets 2-3 and it leaves you wanting more. If you were to eat it as your 'vegetable' for a meal then yes, I can understand the concern over the nutritional info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Loved this recipe. I used fresh green beans, blanched them the day before, par cooked the back, rolled the beans in the bacon, made the sauce poured it over and covered overnight. The day of the dinner I cooked as directed. Made for a dinner for 10 and everybody loved them. They looked great and better still, they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Personally, I don't like these. They are really sweet and I can't seem to get over how much fat are in these (154 g total). However, most people do like them. That's why I gave it 4 stars. I've made it in bundles, which is a very pretty way to make it. If you want an easier way, just place the green beans in the bottom of a baking dish, cut the bacon into pieces and place over the top of the beans, drizzle with brown sugar and butter sauce, and sprinkle with garlic salt. You get the same flavor with less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEPUZZLES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Wow! These were fantastic! I made it into a casserole like previous veiwers. Using 3 cans cut beans. Cut up 1/2 lb. bacon and fried till almost crisp and then added to beans. It still took a long time for bacon to look crispy,uncovered it and it cooked better. I think next time I will pre cook bacon longer. Was a big hit on our Thanksgiving table today! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I made these for Thanksgiving and my in-laws loved them. The funny thing is they ate them as appetizers! I did remove the cover after 15 minutes and baked the green beans for about 15 -20 more minutes and the bacon seemed to cook more. I already have requests to make these for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States