Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I LOVED these! My boyfriend did not. He wanted the more traditional ones with Italian dressing. But whatever, these rock. I think next time I'll do them "deconstructed" style by just laying crumbled bacon on top. These got my eight year old to eat her vegetables so thanks for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CornflakeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made these for a dinner party over the holidays and what a hit! I was leery but I wanted something different and special. My best friend came by later and ate them COLD. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These are awesome!! Served them Christmas day and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolateflowers
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these as a side for Christmas dinner yesterday, and everyone seemed quite skeptical of how they would taste. Once it reached their mouths, everyone was very impressed and asking what else was in them. They are so savory, it was the only side dish completely cleaned off. My husband is begging for me to make them again soon. I ended up only making 2 cans worth of the green beans since the bacon we bought was the thick hearty kind by accident, securing with toothpicks. I stuck it in the oven for 25 minutes to get some of the bacon drippings removed, then added the brown sugar mix. I forgot at that point about the garlic salt, but it still tasted fine without it. I'll have to try it next time to see how it tastes then, but without it, it was still a 5-star recipe to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a great way to serve a vegetable for a holiday dinner and give it a little more pizzazz. I think the ingredients list and also the nutritional info is off - I only used 1 slice of bacon per serving so 6 servings did not take 1 pound of bacon, only about 1/3 of a lb. And I halved the butter and brown sugar too. So I wouldn't necessarily believe that 1 serving of these green beans is 681 calories, which was a relief!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hel's kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Quadrupled this for a wedding rehearsal dinner. It was something the groom requested but it was new to me. I was thrilled with how tasty this was. I used the same method as others: beans in a baking dish, added butter, brown sugar, & garlic salt. Topped with chopped , cooked bacon. Definately a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Ehhhhhhhhh....you have to eat them really warm or the bacon gets yucky! Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Besitos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
3.5 Stars, really. I made this recipe as an alternative to the traditional green bean casserole for Thanksgiving. Kids gobbled these green beans up. I, however, found them to be too sweet. I will make them again, but I will definitely use less sugar next time. I also boiled for about 5 minutes then blanched to make cook time a little less when it was time to bake. Easy to prep ahead of time and just throw into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I've been making this for 3 years. Here are some hints: use the canned whole green beans, use only 5 beans per bundle and wrap with a 3rd strip of bacon. Cut up a stick of butter & scatter throughout the pan after the bundles are in. Sprinkle with the brown sugar and garlic (I use garlic powder). Cover & bake for 30. Uncover and bake an additional 15. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were fantastic! So good, in fact, that I didn't make enough of them. Even my anti-veggies father-in-law loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJPurpleLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States